Author Topic: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044  (Read 5141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cska133

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« on: April 04, 2011, 11:03:22 AM »
hallo,

my Avast free is sticked to version .1000 and I can not upgrade to .1044. Even if I click on upgrade to programm it stays on v1000.

How to force Avast to upgarde?

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2011, 11:06:26 AM »
Download the installer for 1044 and just install it.

There is no update via GUI since it is still a beta (but extremely stable IMHO).

http://files.avast.com/files/beta/6.0.1044/setup_av_free.exe

BTW: You can install over the existing version, no uninstalling needed.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 11:08:07 AM by Zyndstoff »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline MichaelT.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2011, 02:01:09 PM »
IMHO,,,,if it works,,,,DON'T UPDATE!
So many people want the latest Software, OS, Browsers,,,,,
You forget that a working system that you know,
Is better than a broken OS that you have to fight with.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2011, 02:03:14 PM by MichaelT. »

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11773
    • AVAST Software
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2011, 02:54:23 PM »
Having the latest OS, browsers and related stuff is very important - otherwise, you have an opened door for malware to come in.

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2011, 03:36:10 PM »
Does anyone know when the final release will be out? :) I prefer to wait for the full version than to install the beta release :)
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67994
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 04:44:15 PM »
Does anyone know when the final release will be out? :)

Your installed avast! will tell you. ;)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.10.2440.Beta#3 [UI.582] - CC 5.74 - EEK - FF ESR 78.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.5 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 04:55:11 PM »
Does anyone know when the final release will be out? :)

Your installed avast! will tell you. ;)



lol :P  cant wait till its out!!! mainly to get rid of the twitter sign when I get popups.. So noone knows an exact release date?  :-\
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3681
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2011, 04:58:37 PM »
No, but most likely the next build will be another release candidate, as they want to add WebRep for Chrome :)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2011, 05:04:07 PM »
oh man  :(

Then I might update to the beta version  ;D any known issues with it ? BSODs? I'm just asking because I saw so many posts in the forum about BSODs.. which is why I was reluctant to use beta..
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67994
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2011, 05:05:54 PM »
Then I might update to the beta version  ;D any known issues with it ? BSODs? I'm just asking because I saw so many posts in the forum about BSODs.. which is why I was reluctant to use beta..

Well, it's up to you, if you test it. ;)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.10.2440.Beta#3 [UI.582] - CC 5.74 - EEK - FF ESR 78.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.5 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3681
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2011, 05:12:09 PM »
oh man  :(

Then I might update to the beta version  ;D any known issues with it ? BSODs? I'm just asking because I saw so many posts in the forum about BSODs.. which is why I was reluctant to use beta..

If you want to participate in beta testing I suggest that you get image backup software first.  Macrium Reflect is a good freebee :)

http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2011, 05:17:49 PM »

If you want to participate in beta testing I suggest that you get image backup software first.  Macrium Reflect is a good freebee :)

http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

Greetz, Red.

Ok thanks guys! :) Will backup all my data first then  ;D
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 67994
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2011, 05:21:43 PM »
Will backup all my data first then  ;D

Not needed for 6.0.1044, imo.
But if you don't have any backup yet, you should do it anyway...!!!
Btw, Paragon would be another option.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.10.2440.Beta#3 [UI.582] - CC 5.74 - EEK - FF ESR 78.5 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.5 - SB/CP/SL/DU.B
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3681
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2011, 05:28:00 PM »
Will backup all my data first then  ;D

It is not so much about backing up data, but making an image backup of the partition ( by default C ) your Windows is installed on :)

Greets, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: can not upgrade from 6.0.1000 to 1044
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2011, 05:35:29 PM »
Ok thanks! :) I've never done a image backup before.. but Toshiba made me backup some drivers I think and I needed about 5 DVDs, not sure if that was one! I will anyway backup again  :D

Cheers!
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)