Author Topic: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)  (Read 14052 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« on: April 10, 2011, 03:33:19 AM »
anyone know this little software? (quite nice extension to Task Manager)

http://www.prnwatch.com/prio.html

also anyone uses it actually on Windows 7 with SP1 ?

any problems
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2011, 08:50:58 PM »
Thanks Dwarden.

I'll test this application. Some remarks:

1. Changing the process priority could let to Windows instability. It's not a task for the average Joe.

2. Very good additions to the traditional Windows Task Manager.

3. Silent Elevation: seems a very good UAC customization. People can use UAC more silently.
Quote
It happens that you have to often launch a software under administrative access level (e.g. Task Manager or Visual Studio) and every time go through UAC (User Access Control) request. However for safety reason it would be wrong to disable UAC. In such cases the new functionality of Prio "Silent Elevation" is very helpful. It allows specifying a given software for the administrative launch without UAC request. This feature significantly improves the usability without threatening the system safety.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85069
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2011, 09:58:05 PM »
I only MS would get their finger out and make UAC more configurable, user friendly, like this ability to have silent elevation (remember your previous decision, etc.), then people would be less likely to disable it, like me.

Though I use sandboxie for all my internet facing applications to limit risk on my win7 netbook. So I may give this a trial on my win7 netbook.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.4.2464 (build 21.4.6266.561) UI 1.0.639/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2011, 11:13:20 PM »
The silent elevation simple does not work... ::)
It has some hours to be dropped of my system...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2011, 01:50:07 AM »
yeah it's partly functional on the W7 SP1 64bit ...

the digital certificate and UAC elevation maybe isn't working (can't tell don't use that useless feature of OS) ...

priority saving seems works, wish it had cpu and core affinity saving too

so maybe it's working on 32bit? or just Vista ... that would be sad :(

the TCP/IP tab in Task Manager is working and very handy

https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2011, 02:42:35 AM »
It's not on my system anymore. Promised much more it can deliver.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2011, 07:17:06 AM »
Tech it's oldie software... sadly i not found anything doing the same for MS TaskManager
(i don't mean standalone Process Explorer and Process Hacker)
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2011, 01:42:47 PM »
Sometimes, the number counts... If nobody heard about a piece of software, sometimes, it's better not bet that much on it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2011, 01:53:17 PM »
 Dwarden I think you will find this topic interesting:
Avast, Malwarebytes and Process Hacker 
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=75909.0
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2011, 04:38:06 PM »
hihi :) look two posts back :)
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2011, 01:38:02 AM »
ok got it to work ... there is just bug in the Prio menu :)

services and programs validation now works too

quite neat expansion of the TM ...
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2011, 02:58:45 AM »
Dwarden, isn't this an abandoware?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1789
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2011, 03:32:55 AM »
no idea, it's freeware for personal use and it works fine :)
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2011, 03:42:45 AM »
no idea, it's freeware for personal use and it works fine :)
Which was the last update?
The best things in life are free.

Offline GrandPrixGXP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: Prio - Process Priority Saver (32/64bit)
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2011, 03:53:26 AM »
Nothing beats Process Hacker.