Author Topic: Can't "Fix"  (Read 44483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #135 on: April 20, 2011, 12:46:19 PM »
No no no... don't upgrade - just update.

Anyway, there is a problem with the servers at the moment, so no hurry.

On Avast GUI, there is a Tab (left) "Maintenace" there you can update the virus definitions and the program. But wait for half an hour, they are having server down anyway.

No upgrade to any paid version needed!
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #136 on: April 20, 2011, 01:20:53 PM »
Okay, servers are back on air.

What is the version of Avast running on your PC?
6.0.1091?

You can find in Avast GUI, Maintenance.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

jamiebosco

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #137 on: April 20, 2011, 01:48:31 PM »
Hi Guys,After reading this thread I felt I had to register an account here just to say what a great job Zyndstoff and essexboy did,I hope if I ever have a malware problem that there's someone like you guys around to help me out.It's nice to know there are still people out there willing to give their time so generously to help complete strangers.

Thanks
Jamie

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #138 on: April 20, 2011, 01:49:55 PM »
Thanks for your kind words - help is given willingly to people who need it and appreciate it. And Susan is one of those.  8)

Thanks again.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

rlakritz

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #139 on: April 20, 2011, 06:36:40 PM »
YES, I APPRECIATE ALL YOUR HELP!!!

The desktop computer is still running the free version of Avast.  That's why I asked about upgrading to Internet Security (which I paid for). 

As far as the maintenance tab, could you provide the link to the page you are referring to?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #140 on: April 20, 2011, 07:02:27 PM »
No need to download the full version go to the maintenance tab and press insert licence file
Add the Avastlic file
Once done this will update to IAS


Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #141 on: April 20, 2011, 08:46:18 PM »
YES, I APPRECIATE ALL YOUR HELP!!!

The desktop computer is still running the free version of Avast.  That's why I asked about upgrading to Internet Security (which I paid for).  

As far as the maintenance tab, could you provide the link to the page you are referring to?

Oh - you have already a paid licence? Well, then of course go ahead and upgrade.

Sorry, I got that wrong - thought you wanted to upgrade because you were thinking it would increase any virus capabilities.


Here is where you update the program and the virus definitions manually, if need be:
« Last Edit: April 20, 2011, 08:48:30 PM by Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail) »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

rlakritz

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #142 on: April 20, 2011, 10:13:11 PM »
I am about 35% finished defragging the C drive on my desktop (I'm writing this on my laptop). I also have a D drive to defrag. Regarding the Internet speed, how do I check that and know what it should be?  When I downloaded the defrag program it started out at about 10kb/sec and then went up to about 15kb/sec towards the end.  Seems slow, no?

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #143 on: April 20, 2011, 10:16:06 PM »
The D drive can be defragmented from within windows, without interrupting any work on the main drive  ;D

We could do a quick speed check later - what does your ISP state that you may get as a download speed ?

rlakritz

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #144 on: April 20, 2011, 10:21:57 PM »
I just looked it up.  We're supposed to get 5Mb/500Kb.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #145 on: April 20, 2011, 10:23:31 PM »
Just a quick "Hi Susan" from me...  ;D

I'm off to sleep now - and a little reading. I'll check in here tomorrow morning again and see if I can be of further assistance.

Good night - and keep your husbands quick fingers away from the reset-button! Shorten the leash.

 8)
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2604
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #146 on: April 20, 2011, 10:24:53 PM »
Speed test: try this: TEST  ;)
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

rlakritz

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #147 on: April 20, 2011, 10:30:49 PM »
And here are the results of the speed test:
Ping 44ms
Download Speed: 5.21 mbps
Upload Speed: 0.17 mbps

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #148 on: April 20, 2011, 10:35:27 PM »
Please Go to PROFILE then Modify Profile then Forum Profile Information then select your country in Please select your country: then update your Signature: with information like my signature as this helps the helpers offer pertinent advice.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40605
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Can't "Fix"
« Reply #149 on: April 20, 2011, 10:41:29 PM »
Looks spot on to I - this was mine and my ISP states up to 20Mb