Author Topic: [SOLVED] Avast Fonts  (Read 9133 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2011, 10:34:47 AM »
@SafeSurf: But, if I'm not surfing on internet with IE, why should I update it?

Because it deeply integrates in the system plus it is used for Windows Updates.

Did you check this (see screenshot)?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5203
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2011, 10:45:40 AM »
@SafeSurf: But, if I'm not surfing on internet with IE, why should I update it?
Other applications use IE when accessing the Internet.  You are on the Internet now.  As a general rule, it is safer to keep all your software up to date to reduce your security risks.

I will let Zyndstoff continue your support in helping to fix your problem.  Thank you. :)
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2011, 11:14:45 AM »
@SafeSurf:  ;D I installed IE8, like you said. If you want to see, i put a picture
@Zyndstoff: the settings are just like in your picture, take a look:

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2011, 11:19:36 AM »
I'm running out of ideas.  ;D

One last approach though: try to set the Windows theme (Display Properties -> Design -> there's a drop down in the lower left) to Windows-Classic and then back to Windows XP.
Maybe that shakes something back into place.

Are you using any tweaking-tool (like TuneUp or TweakUI or similar)?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2011, 11:29:11 AM »
Do you have MS Office installed? If so, which version?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2011, 11:30:42 AM »
 :o
It's Vlk... what a {edit :} nice surprise.  ;D
« Last Edit: April 14, 2011, 11:40:16 AM by Zyndstoff »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2011, 11:37:38 AM »
@Zyndstoff: I switch to Windows Classic Theme, and there is same text size.
@Vlk: I have Microsoft Office 2003 (word, ppt & excel), with compatibility pack for 2007.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2011, 11:59:58 AM »
Eagerly waiting for Vlk's comments...  ::)
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2011, 07:11:31 AM »
In this morning I reinstall my Windows (lol, same WinXP, sp3). I update it with Automatic Updates and all fonts in avast were normal. I install Microsoft Office 2003, and, after my PC restarts, the fonts in Avast modify to a smaller size.


Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2011, 07:25:49 AM »
Well it seems as vlk said I think office 2003 is the root of the cause...
Is something serious going on in avast office,,,
waiting for vlk's comment eagerly...

Also you said you don't use FF as it slows ur pc but u r posting replies from firefox itself as shown in above screenshots...(just pulling ur leg) ;D

I think i should create a thread naming vlk appeared :D :D :D :D :D :D
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 07:29:21 AM by Ashish Singh »
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #25 on: April 15, 2011, 07:47:53 AM »
In this morning I reinstall my Windows (lol, same WinXP, sp3). I update it with Automatic Updates and all fonts in avast were normal. I install Microsoft Office 2003, and, after my PC restarts, the fonts in Avast modify to a smaller size.



Well, yeah, that's what I think is unavoidable.
Maybe uninstall Office and reinstall w/o the fonts - if that is possible, don't know.
Or, easiest solution: live with it.  8)
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #26 on: April 15, 2011, 07:53:30 AM »
or install Office 2007 or 2010 or 2011( Don't know 2011 is for Windows or not but 2007 and 2010 is)
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #27 on: April 15, 2011, 10:18:06 AM »
@Ashish Singh: I said that I use Firefox 3.6.16, but not the last vers, cause ff4.0 it's slows down my computer.  :P ;D
@Zyndstoff: Maybe... I'm realy curios what Vlk's answer will be.  :)

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #28 on: April 15, 2011, 10:25:11 AM »
@Zyndstoff: Maybe... I'm realy curios what Vlk's answer will be.  :)

To be honest: I don't think there will be any.  ;D

There has been another thread about this in the past, and Vlk ended that with "Avast will use the font that is shipped with Office".

That's why I said to try to uninstall the extra fonts that came with office via office setup - don't know if that is possible - and then add them maybe manually in the fonts folder.

OR:

If you have a second PC available without office, copy all ttf files from the fonts folder to a stick.
Backup (just in case...) and uninstall all fonts from your PC and install all fonts from the stick... may be worth a try.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 10:33:48 AM by Zyndstoff, aka Tex »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #29 on: April 15, 2011, 09:51:55 PM »
 :D :D :D :D :D

I solve the problem. How?!? Zyndstoff gave my an ideea, to erase fonts from %windows% folder.
Here it is the solution:
I erase Calibri Font, and then I restart my computer. After my Pc was restarted, I opened my Avast and all the fonts came back to normaly. Office is working fine too.  ;D

Thanks to everyone who helped me. All of you deserve a great and big beer.
I hope my solution will help other users.
Have a nice day (or night).  ;)

Great Antivirus, great Community.


Later Edit: I must say that Calibri font cannot be deleted when OS is running normaly. I made a backup (will all calibri fonts) and then i delete it in safe mode. If i think better, i will rename the old name.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 09:58:14 PM by Cristiano90 »