Author Topic: [SOLVED] Avast Fonts  (Read 9390 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
[SOLVED] Avast Fonts
« on: April 14, 2011, 09:50:28 AM »
Hello everybody,
I'm new on this forum, but I'm an old user of Avast!; Great Program! :D

But, I must say that when I installed Avast! free, vers. 6.0.1000, all my fonts were normal. After my Windows has been updated from microsoft servers, (I have Windows XP Sp3), all my fonts in Avast were modified to a much smaller size.
I made a print screen to see how fonts are looking now.
I searched this problem on avast forum and go ogle, but all the methods to solve this problem, are inefficient.
I tried to select/unselect Cleartype, but there is no difference. I also modify screen resolution, but nothing happens.

If i need to give more details, i will do it. Thanks for next answers and I hope to solve this problem.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2011, 09:59:47 PM by Cristiano90 »

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5202
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 09:56:58 AM »
I agree the fonts in the GUI are slightly smaller, but I think it is because there is more information contained within the GUI now than in the older version.

Just to clarify, outside of the Avast GUI, the rest of your machine fonts (browser, Word, etc.) fonts are working fine?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2011, 09:57:49 AM »
I'm not sure about this one, but try it:
Start IinternetExplorer and check the settings for font size (under menu "view" I believe). Reset that to standard (or the middle setting I think, not sure).
This might help.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2011, 09:59:39 AM »
I agree the fonts in the GUI are slightly smaller, but I think it is because there is more information contained within the GUI now than in the older version.

He did not change Avast versions, SafeSurf.  ;D Happened after Win Update.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline nnoa110

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2011, 10:00:56 AM »

Welcome to the forum Cristiano90  :)

After my Windows has been updated from microsoft servers, (I have Windows XP Sp3), all my fonts in Avast were modified to a much smaller size.


Are you referring to the Windows Updates (Microsoft Updates)?
Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64Bit/ Core i7 2630QM 2.0-2.9GHz/ 4GB RAM/ avast! Free AV 7.0.1474/ Outpost Firewall Pro 8.0/ MBAM PRO 1.70/ Sandboxie 3.76 Free

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2011, 10:05:44 AM »

Are you referring to the Windows Updates (Microsoft Updates)?


That seems to be quite obvious, doesn't it?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2011, 10:07:07 AM »
@SafeSurf: All my fonts are fine. :P
@Zyndstoff: In IE, zoom for fonts are 100%
@yodaosan: Honestly, I can't see after what update, Avast has smaller fonts. Because all update process was when my Windows shuts down.

P.S. I'm using Mozilla Firefox 3.6.16 if this information help. My IE version is 7.0.5730

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5202
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2011, 10:09:39 AM »
I'm using Mozilla Firefox 3.6.16 if this information help. My IE version is 7.0.5730
You should update FF to 4.0, and IE to v.8.  That might help, and at least reduce your security risk.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2011, 10:10:34 AM »
You checked this? (See screenshot) There is no % setting.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline nnoa110

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #9 on: April 14, 2011, 10:11:31 AM »

Are you referring to the Windows Updates (Microsoft Updates)?


That seems to be quite obvious, doesn't it?

Well I just wanted to clarify this, whether OP was talking about it or not  :)
Win 7 Home Premium SP1 64Bit/ Core i7 2630QM 2.0-2.9GHz/ 4GB RAM/ avast! Free AV 7.0.1474/ Outpost Firewall Pro 8.0/ MBAM PRO 1.70/ Sandboxie 3.76 Free

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 10:12:01 AM »
You should update FF to 4.0, and IE to v.8.  That might help, and at least reduce your security risk.

+1 that should be done in any case.

Firefox is however not related to this problem. IE might...
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2011, 10:19:30 AM »
@Zyndstoff: yes, that setting is checked like in your print screen. I cannot use firefox 4.0, cause it moves slowly on my computer. I also use Google Chrome - the last version

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5202
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2011, 10:23:04 AM »
You can then change your fonts to Larger in the setting you posted your print screen to see if this helps.

I would still update your IE to v.8 for security protection.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2613
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2011, 10:26:34 AM »
Well, okay, then let's try a repair installation of Avast.

Go to Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs, doubleclick Avast entry, on the left side of installer window scroll down to the "Repair" option and select it.
After repair installation do a reboot.

Did it help?
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Cristiano90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Avast Fonts
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2011, 10:30:45 AM »
@SafeSurf: But, if I'm not surfing on internet with IE, why should I update it?
@Zyndstoff: I try to repair, to unninstall it, I use aswclear6, but none of them solve it. Now it is the 3rd reinstall of program.
Plus, before IE6 updates to ie7, my fonts in avast, were small too.