Author Topic: [SOLVED] Can't exit; can't change any settings.  (Read 6703 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
[SOLVED] Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« on: April 19, 2011, 09:39:03 AM »
Avast is telling me that I need to restart it for it to work.  I used to be able to exit via the right-click menu on the tray icon, but the option isn't appearing, for some reason.  The "Fix now" and "Start program" buttons do nothing.

I'd disable it directly through the Task Manager, but the self-defense module won't turn off.  In fact, none of the settings work!  I can check or uncheck a box, but it literally doesn't do anything - the box even goes back to being default state when I re-open the settings menu!

These are some pretty serious flaws.  What introduced them, and how close are they to being fixed?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 03:25:14 PM by Nilbog »

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2011, 09:47:13 AM »
Did you just upgrade to a newer version of Avast or do a clean install?

What version and product of Avast are you using?

What is your OS?

Did this problem just occur, and if so, had you made any other changes to your machine just prior to this?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2011, 09:51:43 AM »
Avast is telling me that I need to restart it for it to work.  I used to be able to exit via the right-click menu on the tray icon, but the option isn't appearing, for some reason.  The "Fix now" and "Start program" buttons do nothing.

I'd disable it directly through the Task Manager, but the self-defense module won't turn off.  In fact, none of the settings work!  I can check or uncheck a box, but it literally doesn't do anything - the box even goes back to being default state when I re-open the settings menu!

These are some pretty serious flaws.  What introduced them, and how close are they to being fixed?

It says reboot is needed.
Reboot first and then check again, pls.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2011, 09:55:24 AM »
Did you just upgrade to a newer version of Avast or do a clean install?
Clean install.

What version and product of Avast are you using?
Free, and the current version.

What is your OS?
7.

Did this problem just occur, and if so, had you made any other changes to your machine just prior to this?
It "just occurred" in the sense that I just installed it.  I just installed it because I had just re-installed 7.  The only change that I made to my computer is one that should have prevented something like this from happening at all.

It says reboot is needed.
Reboot first and then check again, pls.
I did.  Actually, it didn't say anything about rebooting at all, but I figured that it was my only other option.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 09:58:00 AM by Nilbog »

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 09:58:29 AM »
Okay.

The problem still exists?

I'd rather recommend a repair installation as the first try then.
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2011, 10:08:07 AM »
I'd rather recommend a repair installation as the first try then.
Just re-installed it; it's no different.  This version is broken and needs to be fixed ASAP.

If I didn't know better, I'd say that this was an alpha build.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2011, 10:11:34 AM »
Try the Repair first:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

What other security software do you currently have or did you have in the past on this machine including:
- Antivirus (AV)
- Firewall (FW)
- Trial versions of AV, FW and other security programs
- Other security software
- If they were in the past, how did you remove them (the vendor's uninstaller's tool or  another way)?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2011, 10:14:20 AM »
Try the Repair first:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.
I can't find that option at all.  I can update it, uninstall it, or "change" it, though.

What other security software do you currently have or did you have in the past on this machine including:
- Antivirus (AV)
- Firewall (FW)
- Trial versions of AV, FW and other security programs
- Other security software
- If they were in the past, how did you remove them (the vendor's uninstaller's tool or  another way)?
Avast is the first security tool that I've used with this installation of 7.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 10:17:06 AM by Nilbog »

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2011, 10:17:55 AM »
A Repair is easier and quicker to do than a clean install.  If a Repair doesn't fix the problem, then a clean install is needed.

We ask about other security programs...not just antivirus...but firewall, trial versions, other security software as well because remnants and other programs can cause conflicts.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2011, 10:21:30 AM »
If a Repair doesn't fix the problem, then a clean install is needed.
Aside from the fact that I don't even have that option, wouldn't the fact that I already did a clean install tell you something?

It's broken.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2011, 10:28:17 AM »
You never told me the exact version you are using?  6.0.?

What firewall are you using?

Did you ever have any trial AV or software on this machine?

Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2011, 10:37:45 AM »
You never told me the exact version you are using?  6.0.?
Yes.  6.0 is the current version, isn't it?

What firewall are you using?

Did you ever have any trial AV or software on this machine?
I already told you; I haven't installed any security software yet besides Avast.  In fact, it's always one of the first programs that I install when I upgrade my OS.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2011, 10:42:19 AM »
6.0 is the current version, isn't it?
There are many versions under 6.0x.  Which one do you have?

If you right click the orange Avast toolbar > About Avast > what version does it say?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2011, 10:51:39 AM »

Aside from the fact that I don't even have that option, wouldn't the fact that I already did a clean install tell you something?

It's broken.

Aside from the fact that it is not running on your system, wouldn't the fact that it's running perfectly on my PC under Win 7 x64 Pro SP1 tell you something?

It's not broken.

You can download the latest version from the Avast servers by clicking on the bold blue Free in my signature. Maybe your download went wrong.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 10:53:54 AM by Steven Gail (aka Zyndstoff) »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Nilbog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Can't exit; can't change any settings.
« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2011, 10:56:12 AM »
There are many versions under 6.0x.  Which one do you have?
6.0.1.  Like I said, I just installed it.

Aside from the fact that it is not running on your system, wouldn't the fact that it's running perfectly on my PC under Win 7 x64 Pro SP1 tell you something?

It's not broken.
A bug can affect one person's installation and not another's, you know.

You can download the latest version by clicking on the bold blue Free in my signature. Maybe your download went wrong.
I'll see if that works.  thanks.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2011, 11:07:05 AM by Nilbog »