Author Topic: AutoSandbox Test Tool  (Read 130877 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #90 on: April 21, 2011, 10:12:56 AM »
As to the disabling of UAC - isn't that something that increases your security? I'm using Win 7, and it is set to low (or whatever the setting is called...) and I don't find it too disturbing.

Yes, and I didn't mean it as a suggestion ;)
It's just that my way of using the computer is probably slightly different from most people (copying files to system folder to check some avast! behavior, running special logging versions which create their log in C:\ for easier access, attaching a debugger to running processes... too much troubles with UAC :)).


igor,
The issue that avast! Auto-sandbox doesn't trigger on my Desktop  is caused by the software "Fences".
Thank you for your help.

Can you tell me something more about this software? What does it do, can it be downloaded somewhere?

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #91 on: April 21, 2011, 10:14:23 AM »
As to the disabling of UAC - isn't that something that increases your security? I'm using Win 7, and it is set to low (or whatever the setting is called...) and I don't find it too disturbing.

Yes, and I didn't mean it as a suggestion ;)
It's just that my way of using the computer is probably slightly different from most people (copying files to system folder to check some avast! behavior, running special logging versions which create their log in C:\ for easier access, attaching a debugger to running processes... too much troubles with UAC :)).


That's how I understood it.  ;D
Thx
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2610
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #92 on: April 21, 2011, 10:15:47 AM »
FENCES

It's nice looking... maybe I'll try that...
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Desirae Spencer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #93 on: April 21, 2011, 10:43:38 AM »
igor,
The issue that avast! Auto-sandbox doesn't trigger on my Desktop  is caused by the software "Fences".
Thank you for your help.

Can you tell me something more about this software? What does it do, can it be downloaded somewhere?

Thank you, Zyndstoff. That is the software I use.

igor,
Fences is a free desktop customization software and you can download it from their official website.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 11:07:24 AM by kyokodash2 »

Offline GaAs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 181
  • My CPU is well seasoned. Mmmm, so good!
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #94 on: April 21, 2011, 01:41:54 PM »
Hi All.
AutoSanbox test: ok here. :)
Another antivirus, Core Duo T5600, 2.0 GB of RAM, W7_32bit, old oooooold whisky!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #95 on: April 21, 2011, 02:06:17 PM »
The issue that avast! Auto-sandbox doesn't trigger on my Desktop  is caused by the software "Fences".
Thank you for your help.
Very strange... What does Fences have anything to do with autosandboxing not being triggered?
I use Fences and it never (it can't) block autosandoxing...
The best things in life are free.

Offline GrandPrixGXP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #96 on: April 21, 2011, 03:33:00 PM »
Why uses Fences with Windows 7? Just pin everything to the superbar.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #97 on: April 21, 2011, 03:38:13 PM »
Why uses Fences with Windows 7? Just pin everything to the superbar.
To hide icons on desktop? To group them?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Flash999

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • avast! User
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #98 on: April 21, 2011, 03:42:17 PM »
Great tool. Work perfect. AutoSandbox working.
avast! Free 8

Offline GrandPrixGXP

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #99 on: April 21, 2011, 03:48:08 PM »
Everything I use daily is pinned. No desktop icons at all including the recycle bin. Just my wallpaper and forecast gadget.

Offline JuninhoSlo

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 849
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #100 on: April 21, 2011, 04:38:48 PM »
Thank you for AutoSandobx Test my autosandobx works without any problems  :P

Offline Desirae Spencer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #101 on: April 21, 2011, 05:11:50 PM »
The issue that avast! Auto-sandbox doesn't trigger on my Desktop  is caused by the software "Fences".
Thank you for your help.
Very strange... What does Fences have anything to do with autosandboxing not being triggered?
I use Fences and it never (it can't) block autosandoxing...

Tech,

I've got no idea. :'(
1. The same file ( AutoSandbox Test Tool ) on Desktop but just in different way to appear. http://k.min.us/imXf60.png
2. Run the left one → AutoSandbox can't be triggered. http://k.min.us/inb4sW.png
3. Run the right one → trigger the AutoSandbox pop-up and get message with red frame. http://k.min.us/inb61e.png; http://k.min.us/inbvM0.png
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 05:14:12 PM by kyokodash2 »

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4124
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #102 on: April 21, 2011, 05:46:16 PM »
kyokodash2, I can confirm the behaivior...with a similar fence setup and the tool inside or outside a fence autosandbox does not take any action - no red border.

Run from explorer, it generates an alert.

This is not limited to just the tool, but other things that generate alerts, like OTS. Behavior is the same with fences.

EDIT: Also...not just AutoSandbox tool :P (Doesn't happen every time though?)
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 09:07:12 PM by spg SCOTT »
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #103 on: April 22, 2011, 01:13:26 AM »
Thanks for this testing tool...!! :)
Works as expected.
PS: Also D+ did catch it. ;)
I didn't know you use D+ ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Excess

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #104 on: April 22, 2011, 09:55:52 AM »
Hello,

Same problem here, I use Fences, and when I run it directly from my fences desktop, Avast! doesn't ask me to run the test tool in the AutoSandbox, but when I go to the desktop by windows explorer and I run the test tool, everything is working well.
AMD ATHLON II X2 M300, 4 Gio RAM DDR2, 500 Gio HD SATA II, ATI RADEON HD 4570, WINDOWS 7 HOME PREMIUM X64, AVAST! FREE 6.0.1091, MBAM FREE, FIREFOX 4 WITH LINK EXTEND & WEBREP, WINDOWS' 7 FIREWALL.