Author Topic: AutoSandbox Test Tool  (Read 137088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Libra

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #150 on: May 07, 2011, 09:05:00 PM »
I used the AutoSandbox Test Tool on my Vista sp2 computer.  It worked as it should.  I had to first click on the file to run it and then got a prompt from the computer asking if I wanted to run it (saying something couldn't be verified) and then Avast popped up recommending I run it in the sandbox, which I did.

I was thinking of trying to install a coupon printer .exe which I DO NOT want on my computer, but I'm reluctant since I don't know if Avast will pop up or not to run it in the sandbox.  Is there any way to be sure of this?

I am running the free Avast and the setting has the sandbox enabled and it is set to ask (I noticed that I had set it to auto, but it changed back to ask - I'm assuming maybe that is for the pro version?)

Any thoughts on this?

Thank you.

Sincerely, Libra

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #151 on: May 08, 2011, 12:42:57 AM »
No, sorry, there is no way.
The full manual sandbox functionality is only in the Professional and IS version of avast!.

Libra

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #152 on: May 08, 2011, 04:00:04 AM »
Thank you igor for your reply.

Sincerely, Libra

Offline sooners2win

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #153 on: May 12, 2011, 07:05:28 AM »
Comodo got it, I have autosandbox turned off....I may turn off on comodo and
try the avast sandbox though
a6750f, amd phenom 9650quad core processor 2.30Ghz, Ram 8GB, Microsoft Vista Home Premium 64-bit SP2,Avast7 Free,Comodo Firewall, Malwarebytes, Superantispyware, Ccleaner, FF3.6.14,Google Chrome.

Libra

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #154 on: May 15, 2011, 09:39:40 PM »
Thank you.  Unfortunately I won't go near Comodo.  They purchased BoClean and proceeded to treat it's developer very shabbily instead of doing what they agreed to. 

Sincerely, Libra

rysiu

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #155 on: June 01, 2011, 04:01:37 PM »
Is it possible to implement sandboxie feature to context menu? Like you click right mouse button on file and there you can use option "open with sandbox"

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11815
    • AVAST Software
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #156 on: June 01, 2011, 04:02:56 PM »
That's already implemented, of course - but you need avast! Pro or IS.

pcclean3453

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #157 on: June 03, 2011, 02:42:40 PM »
I got a question about the test tool. Do you have to delete it from the registry immediately or can it stay there?

             Regards,
                    Pcclean3453

kariuro

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #158 on: June 07, 2011, 09:09:47 AM »
seems to work fine here.  :)

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #159 on: June 07, 2011, 10:58:25 PM »
I have to say that the Test Tool is very handy for explaining users the AutoSandbox. Although I noticed that for some users the AutoSandbox can be complicated.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 15 / Debian 11 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

NTxLS

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #160 on: June 19, 2011, 08:08:19 PM »
For whatever it may be worth, "For the BEST protection with all of their SandBox and other settings this Avast! 6.0.1125 is the very BEST, IMHO."

Vlk,

Just ran your little test program and Avast! 6 did what it was designed for, except should not the box that shows "Avast auosandbox" say "Attempted Modification of the System" instead of "Modify the system!" when nothing has really taken place?  Plus the keeping those two windows open and on top so you may follow to the locations to verify they are not modified is also good.

emel

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #161 on: July 01, 2011, 11:09:07 AM »
i have downloaded the tool into my PC. so after running the exe file, what indicates avast is  working properly when this sandbox test tool is used?
i am  blind and using XP with jaws10,  which is 2 versions older than what the sandbox is built for.

emel

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #162 on: July 02, 2011, 10:52:48 AM »
just to clarify my previous query:
if i run the test tool and sandbox is triggered, then find my screen reader cannot read anything [silent in the sandbox environment] how do i terminate the test? is there any button outside the sandbox that i can use to terminate the test? [a STOP BUTTON outside the sandbox i presume can be read and used by my screen reader?]
thanks
emel

Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #163 on: July 03, 2011, 08:03:44 AM »
Click ok after clicking Modify my System and the process gets terminated itself
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

emel

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox Test Tool
« Reply #164 on: July 04, 2011, 03:33:29 AM »
thank you  :) so the OK button can terminate the test?