Author Topic: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests  (Read 170425 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2011, 10:48:08 AM »
What company ?
Chrome is the google browser and has nothing to do with the Chromium open source browser code (other than it too uses it as a base)...

jesus... you can't be serious (I'm afraid you are ::) )... Chromium development might be OpenSource but it's in Google's hands... Anybody can pick up a copy and attempt whatever modification because the code is open...(more or less lol ) but Chromium is Google's, period...you're not a Chrome user and you're misinformed David. Canari and Dev builds are following very closely Chromium builds etc... the rest about Chromium is a myth ;D

ps: note that as open as the code is or might be, no one has been able to modify the API to allow things that can't be done with security extension as well as it can be done in Firefox for instance, and guess why... Google doesn't want it.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 10:51:31 AM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline calcu007

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 482
  • I'm lamma!
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2011, 04:55:58 AM »
Chromium is open source so Google doesn,t has control of what can or can't do the developers with the code. Google only controls Chrome.
Asus Intel i7 8GB RAM , Win 8.1 64 bit, Avast IS

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1551
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #17 on: April 26, 2011, 05:03:17 AM »
Would asking to run a program inside of SafeZone be to much? like run a program that you are not totally sure of. like instead of sandbox run it in Safezone
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #18 on: April 26, 2011, 05:26:23 AM »
Would asking to run a program inside of SafeZone be to much? like run a program that you are not totally sure of. like instead of sandbox run it in Safezone
Thats not what it is for, though.  Safezone is less to protect your pc from infection, more to protect the safety your online transactions/passwords from something bad that might be already on your system.  
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1551
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2011, 05:46:54 AM »
Would asking to run a program inside of SafeZone be to much? like run a program that you are not totally sure of. like instead of sandbox run it in Safezone
Thats not what it is for, though.  Safezone is less to protect your pc from infection, more to protect the safety your online transactions/passwords from something bad that might be already on your system.  
Okay I never knew that ;D
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44306
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #20 on: April 28, 2011, 07:02:55 PM »
I'd like to see SafeZone offered as a stand alone application. Sold at a reasonable price.
That way it would be available for those that use the free version without having to purchase a full license.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Tgell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • Definitely not a BOT!
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #21 on: April 28, 2011, 07:54:03 PM »
Would it be possible to integrate the open-source password manager Keypass into the SafeZone?

Offline Coolmario88

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1551
  • Bronies make the web go round
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #22 on: April 28, 2011, 10:06:58 PM »
I'd like to see SafeZone offered as a stand alone application. Sold at a reasonable price.
That way it would be available for those that use the free version without having to purchase a full license.

+1
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
Webbrowser: Mozilla Firefox

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11765
    • AVAST Software
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2011, 12:28:55 AM »
I'm not sure it's possible. The whole thing is kinda dependent on avast! drivers... so, it would either be really standalone (meaning it would install the drivers itself, but avast! could not be installed on the computer in that case), or it would use the drivers of an already installed avast! - in which case, however, it would have to start updating with avast! (so that the drivers of the program and the application don't get desynced), which basically means turning avast! into Pro and let it update the thing itself.
Or, introducing a 4th avast! edition ("Semi Pro") - which would be Free + SafeZone... bringing a lot of confusion into the possible licenses, upgrades between them, ...

Just my opinion, but I'd say it's definitely not worth it - a lot of possible problems with questionable benefit.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44306
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #24 on: April 29, 2011, 01:26:52 AM »
I'm not sure it's possible. The whole thing is kinda dependent on avast! drivers... so, it would either be really standalone (meaning it would install the drivers itself, but avast! could not be installed on the computer in that case), or it would use the drivers of an already installed avast! - in which case, however, it would have to start updating with avast! (so that the drivers of the program and the application don't get desynced), which basically means turning avast! into Pro and let it update the thing itself.
Or, introducing a 4th avast! edition ("Semi Pro") - which would be Free + SafeZone... bringing a lot of confusion into the possible licenses, upgrades between them, ...

Just my opinion, but I'd say it's definitely not worth it - a lot of possible problems with questionable benefit.
Thanks for the reply. Your the expert.  :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1909 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline simbasi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2011, 02:12:20 PM »
It would be nice if I could copy (Ctl C), a web address from the IE page, and jump to Safe Zone and paste that address into the address bar.  Now, I'm forced to write the address down and then type it on the Safe Zone screen.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2011, 02:15:24 PM »
It would be nice if I could copy (Ctl C), a web address from the IE page, and jump to Safe Zone and paste that address into the address bar.  Now, I'm forced to write the address down and then type it on the Safe Zone screen.
There should be no communication between one environment and the other...
Edited: wrong technical information. Sorry.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2011, 02:36:31 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2011, 01:40:43 AM »
It would be nice if I could copy (Ctl C), a web address from the IE page, and jump to Safe Zone and paste that address into the address bar.  Now, I'm forced to write the address down and then type it on the Safe Zone screen.

@simbasi, this should already work (Ctrl+C / Ctrl+V is allowed between default and safezone desktops, but it can be used only for text copying)...

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9347
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #28 on: May 13, 2011, 09:28:58 PM »
And i assume only in dirction from host to SafeZone and not the other way around.Though if it's isolated, you can't run a copy command without user knowing anyway. Except if the user copies the text in SafeZone (password maybe) and then someone captures that on host system. That wouldn't be too good...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline RNfromTN

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 670
  • surfin sandboxed
Re: Sandbox / SafeZone - feature requests
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2011, 12:42:10 AM »
Reguarding the sandbox: I'd like to see a way to terminate ALL processes running in the sandbox at the same time instead of each one at a time.
Sandboxie| IFW|Outpost firewall|Norton Ghost|Win XP,Vista,7
member since 2005| Linux Mint user