Author Topic: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...  (Read 3213 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MayuraDeSilva

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« on: April 23, 2011, 09:00:08 AM »
Hi,

I personally doesn't like the way avast! AutoSandbox dialog box appears.



I suggest it would be simple and user-friendly if it could be appeared as a pop-up notification on system tray and let user to take relevant action rather than taking span of screen for that in the middle of another work going on.

Just a suggestion and really like if it can be implemented in future :)

Cheers...

ANHTHU5991

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2011, 09:05:59 AM »
ya, i think it's a good idea

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2011, 03:09:59 PM »
Please learn how to post an image by going to Additional Options... then Attach: then Browse... as your posted image is hard to read.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2011, 07:54:09 PM »
I'm indifferent to that.
It could be like it is now, as it is not a detection but rather an autosandboxing window.
But if they become what you wish it won't be bad, unifying the way as avast alert users (panel over the system tray).
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89348
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2011, 08:45:40 PM »
Well I don't believe there would be the option to take any decisions if it were like the other alerts, which in effect are notifications as the detection process is automatic (send to chest, default).

Where the autosandbox default setting is Ask so you have to interact with it, it might suggest that you run it in the sandbox but you can change decision, something which I don't think you can do in the current form of detection alert (unless you have that set to Ask). Then you would get a pop-up in the same way as the autosandbox one, enabling you to decide on the action.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 08:53:15 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2011, 08:53:01 PM »
Well I don't believe there would be the option to take any decisions if it were like the other alerts
The user is just suggesting where the window is shown (not changing the features/options).
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89348
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2011, 08:54:58 PM »
Yes, but I don't know if that allows for actions to be taken, in the same way as current alert notifications.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline MayuraDeSilva

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
Re: AutoSandbox feature notifications on System Tray...
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2011, 06:33:35 AM »
Yes, but I don't know if that allows for actions to be taken, in the same way as current alert notifications.

Yep, I got what you mean... avast! has only notifications on the tray but no user responses to made until now. It's just a suggestion to be more user-friendly. I mean interaction of AutoSandboxing dialog bugging me my work sometimes.

if you can implement it will be more worthy... just to be simple... it's on the hands of developers, not mine though :)

Please learn how to post an image by going to Additional Options... then Attach: then Browse... as your posted image is hard to read.

Thank you for your information, here it is attached below :)