Author Topic: "urgent-avast! ervice stopped"  (Read 4100 times)

cid73

"urgent-avast! ervice stopped"
« on: April 24, 2011, 10:20:25 PM »
my avast has stopped working and will not uptdate.  when I try to start the program from the "current status" menu, the run icon comes on for a few seconds, then goes out, with nothing happening.
I cannot update to the current version, 6.0.6002.  I am a paid subscriber to Pro.
help! thanks.

Hermite15

Re: "urgent-avast! ervice stopped"
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2011, 10:25:15 PM »
6.0.6002 has never existed >>> current version is 6.0.1091

cid73

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2011, 10:28:25 PM »
my mistake. meant that as version of Vista on my computer.

Hermite15

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2011, 10:32:39 PM »
1 first download, update, and do a quick scan with mbam:
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
... and tell us about the output.

2 if nothing was detected, attempt a repair from the uninstall menu of Avast, reboot. If that doesn't work, re-install from scratch.

cid73

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2011, 11:20:33 PM »
I found two malicious:  Adwave.MyWebSearch and Trojan.Agent.

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2011, 12:20:48 AM »
The Adware.MyWebSearch, really is a very low key issue that I doubt has anything to do with the service being stopped, but allow MBAM to remove it.

What errors are you getting when you try to update ?

What avast pro version do you have installed at present ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

cid73

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2011, 02:03:19 AM »
my avast version is 5.0.889.