Author Topic: avast and Windows 7 System Restore  (Read 42907 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« on: April 25, 2011, 03:13:37 AM »
I've tried 4 restore points and I could never restore any of them.
Microsoft says it is the antivirus which is blocking the restore.
Disabling avast until reboot does not work.
Disabling self defense module does not work.

Can anyone tell me exactly what is going on?
Is avast incompatible with Windows System Restore?

(Please, do NOT discuss Windows System Restore itself)
The best things in life are free.

Offline DraKuL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 392
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2011, 04:00:38 AM »
If it helps, with AIS 6.0.100 I managed to restore successfully, havent tried it with the new version yet..
ASRock Extreme 6 - Intel Corei7-3820 3.60GHz | RAM 16.00GB 2400FSB | 2TB HDD +128SSD | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit |Avast! Internet Security V8 | MBAM PRO - RealTime | SUPERAntiSpyware PRO |CC Cleaner | Chrome | Firefox |(The Latest Release of all the Software)

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11078
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2011, 09:52:13 AM »
I used system restore yesterday because i deleted a driver that i thought i didn't need and it worked fine with the latest version of avast.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2011, 10:08:01 AM »
yeah I didn't need to restore my system recently but I've been there before: can be hell, even impossible to restore a system when Avast is installed. Seems to work better in safe mode.
w7 - ais7

Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2011, 10:28:20 AM »
Its not only avast it happens with other AV also.. I have also tried system restore with other AV before but no success...

Thanks
Ash
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2011, 10:50:03 AM »
that's right, it happens with other security suites too.
w7 - ais7

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2011, 02:54:34 PM »
Since I'm "fooling around" quite a lot with my machine I am using the win7 restore point frequently (about twice a week).
So far I never experienced any difficulties with restore points at all. Everything is working as advertised.
The only thing I regularly do is some "housekeeping" by killing selected not needed restore points comfortably with "CCleaner" when the list is becoming too long.
This statement is true for all AVAST!FREE versions including beta or pre-release builds.

PS:
About half a year ago I had massive problems with restore points and also Win-Recovery-Environment. The reason for that was some corrupted data in BCD which were just pointing nowhere. After repair everything was working normal and reliably.

« Last Edit: April 25, 2011, 03:14:01 PM by jrace »
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2011, 03:49:50 PM »
It's not reliable. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.
The best things in life are free.

Offline sded

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1718
  • Me llamo Ed
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2011, 04:08:50 PM »
I haven't been having any restore problems.  How many restore points do you keep around?  I do an image weekly, and as part of that use Microsoft Disk Cleanup to delete all but the latest restore point, so things are pretty clean.  I also note from looking within System Volume Information that "C:\System Volume Information\SystemRestore\FRStaging\## aswSnx private storage" is there, so maybe heavy use of sandboxing could be a factor?
Windows 7 x64HP-SP1-No UAC, Opera 11.51, Avast! Internet Security 6.0.128, Webroot SecureAnywhere latest beta, Windows FW off, MVPS HOSTS, SAS/MBAM offline, Macrium Reflect just in case ;)

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2011, 04:14:47 PM »
It's not reliable. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.


Another suggestion for you, Tech:
May be the diskspace for restore points on your system is too small (I had that problem also some time ago). Just go to "System Properties" and hit the tab "Computer Protection". There you can adjust the space reserved for restore points and give it at least 10% of your disk space for every partition.
A common thing with windows is also:
If you try to restore a point which is let's say the 10th oldest in the list, sometimes it's not even available anymore although it is listed!

If that does not help I've got no further idea about your problem.


« Last Edit: April 25, 2011, 04:21:25 PM by jrace »
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2011, 04:19:28 PM »
It's not reliable. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.


Another suggestion for you, Tech:
May be the diskspace for restore points on your system is too small (I had that problem also some time ago). Just go to "System Properties" and hit the tab "Computer Protection". There you can adjust the space reserved for restore points and give it at least 10% of your disk space for every partition.
A common thing with windows is also:
If you try to restore a point which is let's say the 10th oldest in the list, sometimes it's not even available anymore although it is listed!
If that does not help I've got no further idea about your problem.




No I am damn sure its because of an antivirus.... Earlier I used Quick Heal Total Security and had same problem when i removed the problem solved
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2011, 04:24:58 PM »
It's not reliable. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.


Another suggestion for you, Tech:
May be the diskspace for restore points on your system is too small (I had that problem also some time ago). Just go to "System Properties" and hit the tab "Computer Protection". There you can adjust the space reserved for restore points and give it at least 10% of your disk space for every partition.
A common thing with windows is also:
If you try to restore a point which is let's say the 10th oldest in the list, sometimes it's not even available anymore although it is listed!
If that does not help I've got no further idea about your problem.




No I am damn sure its because of an antivirus.... Earlier I used Quick Heal Total Security and had same problem when i removed the problem solved

That really is "a good step forward"! ;D ;D ;D
Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2011, 04:32:22 PM »
main issues with Avast and system restore are:

1 the self-defense module
2 the behavior shield
w7 - ais7

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2011, 04:55:34 PM »
If you try to restore a point which is let's say the 10th oldest in the list, sometimes it's not even available anymore although it is listed!
Although it's listed? I don't think Microsoft would make such a mistake... It's unbelievable.
I'm not running out of space. The WSR runs at maximum capacity. The restore points that fail are three days ago...
The best things in life are free.

Offline jrace

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2011, 05:19:21 PM »
If you try to restore a point which is let's say the 10th oldest in the list, sometimes it's not even available anymore although it is listed!
Although it's listed? I don't think Microsoft would make such a mistake... It's unbelievable.
I'm not running out of space. The WSR runs at maximum capacity. The restore points that fail are three days ago...

I would never claim Microsoft did a mistake but my system does it and there are some others who experienced this.

Sony VGN-SZ71VN/X, 4GB RAM, 256GB SSD, win7/32_ult_SP1-U
avast! pro 11.2.2255, Win7 Firewall, MBAM 2.2.0.1024
FF 45.0