Author Topic: avast and Windows 7 System Restore  (Read 42899 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Joe S

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #30 on: April 26, 2011, 06:00:20 AM »
I've had problems with system restore too and gave up on it months ago. I tried disabling Avast and also tried from safe mode and can't get it to work. I keep a current image with Acronis restore takes about 10 min.
Joe
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bit Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @2.83  8 Gigs Ram NVIDIA GeForce G9800 GT 1G

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #31 on: April 26, 2011, 09:03:55 AM »
The problem is that, sometimes, avast is being accused by Microsoft as being culprit of the fail.
Does avast team have anything to say?

don't know where you heard about that but definitely yes, when a recent restore point fails to restore the system, ie sometimes even using the latest RP, then Avast, when installed, is the culprit, there's no doubt about that. I've seen it happen enough times.
w7 - ais7

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #32 on: April 26, 2011, 01:39:25 PM »
I'm not quite sure if the problem was with the definitions or with the file that stores the scan data. Now that I think of it, the problem at Comodo was from the sfi.dat file that stored the data about what had been scanned before. Like the persistent cache that Avast has. It was locked and would not allow system restore to go back to an earlier dated version of it so the restore attempts would fail.
Good shot. Can't avast detect a legit attempt of Windows System Restore to avoid such behavior (if it exists)?
The best things in life are free.

Offline ethan76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #33 on: April 26, 2011, 09:53:14 PM »
I have no problems with System Restore in Windows 7 with AIS ver 6.0.1091. But this might wanna interest you HERE


« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 09:55:32 PM by ethan76 »
AMD Phenom 8550 16gb , Avast IS 6.0.1367, Comodo with D+ ver5.8, SBIE3.62(W7 Ultimate and XP SP3) Zemana, MBAM Pro - 

Intel Dual Core 4gb, Avast IS IS 6.0.1367, MBAM Pro -  Online Armor Premium ver5 (W7 Ultimate and XP SP3)

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #34 on: April 26, 2011, 09:59:51 PM »
I have no problems with System Restore in Windows 7 with AIS ver 6.0.1091. But this might wanna interest you HERE
Very interesting but it displays Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline ethan76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #35 on: April 26, 2011, 11:00:29 PM »
Oh..it's fine here with me though. Kindly see (Chrome/FF4 and IE9). Anyway it's this:

http://www.sevenforums.com/backup-restore/159425-system-restore-question-hopefully-simple.html

Just sharing.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 11:03:05 PM by ethan76 »
AMD Phenom 8550 16gb , Avast IS 6.0.1367, Comodo with D+ ver5.8, SBIE3.62(W7 Ultimate and XP SP3) Zemana, MBAM Pro - 

Intel Dual Core 4gb, Avast IS IS 6.0.1367, MBAM Pro -  Online Armor Premium ver5 (W7 Ultimate and XP SP3)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44956
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #36 on: April 26, 2011, 11:35:50 PM »
Ethan's remarks where uncalled for. Retaliating in a like manner makes you just as wrong YoKenny.  :o
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline ethan76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #37 on: April 26, 2011, 11:51:36 PM »
Newbie yes. Lot to learn yes. But respect is needed wether newbie or not. Mistakes happen but not all come from newbies like me. Even old-geeks like you are guilty of it. I was wrong there in using the link..I did not know it yet. Just pointed out how you seem to reply with the link I provided. Now the mistakes are hard to accept. Thanks for the link.

Thank you for the warmness. Some people...

« Last Edit: April 27, 2011, 12:33:53 AM by ethan76 »
AMD Phenom 8550 16gb , Avast IS 6.0.1367, Comodo with D+ ver5.8, SBIE3.62(W7 Ultimate and XP SP3) Zemana, MBAM Pro - 

Intel Dual Core 4gb, Avast IS IS 6.0.1367, MBAM Pro -  Online Armor Premium ver5 (W7 Ultimate and XP SP3)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #38 on: April 26, 2011, 11:56:27 PM »
ethan, I have no trouble on taking a restore point (links you've posted).
The problem is restoring.
The best things in life are free.

Offline ethan76

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #39 on: April 27, 2011, 12:31:13 AM »

Sorry there.

Mods you can remove my last post. Will not stoop that low anymore. Got carried away there.

@Tech,

I was to post some additional links. Incidentally, are you using CTM..? It's in your sig..Tried CTM before and it borked my system. Had to use an image backup to recover. Might you be interested for a Paragon System Backup 10 Special Edition...? Just let me know. I can ask someone for a spare license.

Anyway, kindly see below. Might find some similarity or ideas. Good luck. 

http://forums.comodo.com/empty-t54730.0.html

http://forums.comodo.com/install-setup-configuration-help-cis/sfidat-t39914.0.html;msg300101

http://www.sevenforums.com/software/90847-comodo-time-machine-partition.html

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic271374.html

http://forum.thewindowsclub.com/windows-7-management-support/32470-system-restore-not-working-windows-7-error-code-0x80071a90-3.html

http://forums.techguy.org/windows-7/974842-system-restore-not-working-searched.html


AMD Phenom 8550 16gb , Avast IS 6.0.1367, Comodo with D+ ver5.8, SBIE3.62(W7 Ultimate and XP SP3) Zemana, MBAM Pro - 

Intel Dual Core 4gb, Avast IS IS 6.0.1367, MBAM Pro -  Online Armor Premium ver5 (W7 Ultimate and XP SP3)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #40 on: April 27, 2011, 12:44:27 AM »
ethan, thanks for the effort.
I'm not using CTM at the moment.
Also, this is a problem between avast and Windows System Restore.
I want, if possible, that someone of the programmers give me a help on why avast is blocking the system restore randomically (specially after a virus definitions update).
The best things in life are free.

Offline Ashish Singh

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 437
  • Proud to be an Indian
    • Quick Heal
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #41 on: April 27, 2011, 03:52:45 AM »
Newbie yes. Lot to learn yes. But respect is needed wether newbie or not. Mistakes happen but not all come from newbies like me. Even old-geeks like you are guilty of it. I was wrong there in using the link..I did not know it yet. Just pointed out how you seem to reply with the link I provided. Now the mistakes are hard to accept. Thanks for the link.

Thank you for the warmness. Some people...



+10000

Thanks for the effort..
A suggestion from anyone will help many of us here.

Thanks
Ash
« Last Edit: April 27, 2011, 03:55:40 AM by Ashish Singh »
Windows 7 Ultimate(32 bit), avast! free (always latest released or beta), Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM, Outpost Firewall Pro 7.5,IE 9,TuneUp Utilities 2011,Diskeeper 2011

http://www.incredibleindia.org 

Caution! Online world is full of man made Aliens

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #42 on: May 09, 2011, 02:05:19 PM »
Another user with problems with System Restore
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61928.msg642953#msg642953

Not a word from avast team.
Shame.
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44956
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Jorasik

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 423
    • My website (in bulgarian)
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #44 on: May 09, 2011, 10:37:12 PM »
Tech, I always had the system restore problem while running avast. I has happened ot 3 different computers using windows 7, Vista and XP. The last few times I tried to restore my system it didn't even want to boot properly. It always loaded until the moment i need to enter my password and then there was only black screen. I couldn't get to the point where my desktop gets loaded. The only way to boot was to do it in safe mode. The moment i uninstalled avast and restarted everything got running just fine and windows booter normally and informed me that it has successfuly restored the system. I'm still using avast , but i know that if i ever need to restore my system again i should uninstall avast first...It's a shame.