Author Topic: avast and Windows 7 System Restore  (Read 43084 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #15 on: April 25, 2011, 05:34:55 PM »
confirming, the older restore points are, the less chance you got that restoring will succeed.
w7 - ais7

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70008
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2011, 06:04:19 PM »
confirming, the older restore points are, the less chance you got that restoring will succeed.

If you set them to max (also see Reply #9) on any newer HD, there shouldn't be a problem.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2011, 06:08:26 PM »
confirming, the older restore points are, the less chance you got that restoring will succeed.

If you set them to max (also see Reply #) on any newer HD, there shouldn't be a problem.


nothing to do with reserved disk space, it just happens that old restore points are not relevant enough for the system to be restored using them.
w7 - ais7

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 70008
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2011, 06:19:16 PM »
nothing to do with reserved disk space, it just happens that old restore points are not relevant enough for the system to be restored using them.

It has, but could be it was a misunderstanding with what you meant...
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.3.2459.BUC [UI.612] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.9
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 89.1 - Cleanup 21.1 - SecureLine 5.11 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.78
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #19 on: April 26, 2011, 12:14:04 AM »
The problem is that, sometimes, avast is being accused by Microsoft as being culprit of the fail.
Does avast team have anything to say?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #20 on: April 26, 2011, 12:23:40 AM »
I have never used a restore point so I keep my disk usage for it at 1%. I never have more than 4 available. I think that should be more than sufficient.

I have read though that there can be problems with many AV's when trying to use a restore point. It seems to stem from trying to reinstall an older signature database. I remember there being some mention of it in Comodo's forums.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #21 on: April 26, 2011, 12:55:08 AM »
It seems to stem from trying to reinstall an older signature database. I remember there being some mention of it in Comodo's forums.
So, there is an incompatibility with antivirus programs? Disable is not enough?
The best things in life are free.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #22 on: April 26, 2011, 01:09:45 AM »
It seems to stem from trying to reinstall an older signature database. I remember there being some mention of it in Comodo's forums.
So, there is an incompatibility with antivirus programs? Disable is not enough?
I have never needed to use Windows 7 System Restore but it does save a backup every Tuesday morning and selected
Quote
Keep only the latest system image and minimize space used by backup
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #23 on: April 26, 2011, 01:15:42 AM »
Again, the discussion is NOT about Windows System Restore or backups but about avast team come here and say something WHY WINDOWS SYSTEM RESTORE DOES NOT WORK WITH AVAST ALL THE TIME...
The best things in life are free.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #24 on: April 26, 2011, 01:32:08 AM »
Again, the discussion is NOT about Windows System Restore or backups but about avast team come here and say something WHY WINDOWS SYSTEM RESTORE DOES NOT WORK WITH AVAST ALL THE TIME...
You know the avast! team better than me so you need to contact them.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Nesivos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1352
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #25 on: April 26, 2011, 01:57:23 AM »
I did a Windows Registry Restore with AIS and the Windows Restore screwed up AIS. :o :o

I was able to fix it.

After that I stopped using the Windows Registry Restore and have only used A full Windows Restore which includes a restore of the System Image.  I had no problem with that.  Everything went smoothly :) :)

Conclusion:  I think that there could be some conflict between Avast AIS and Windows Registry Restore.  I have no idea what it could be or even guess what it is. 
« Last Edit: April 26, 2011, 01:59:35 AM by Nesivos »
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #26 on: April 26, 2011, 02:40:56 AM »
You know the avast! team better than me so you need to contact them.
I am contacting them. Don't they read the forums?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2011, 04:25:36 AM »
It seems to stem from trying to reinstall an older signature database. I remember there being some mention of it in Comodo's forums.
So, there is an incompatibility with antivirus programs? Disable is not enough?
I'm not quite sure if the problem was with the definitions or with the file that stores the scan data. Now that I think of it, the problem at Comodo was from the sfi.dat file that stored the data about what had been scanned before. Like the persistent cache that Avast has. It was locked and would not allow system restore to go back to an earlier dated version of it so the restore attempts would fail.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline homedog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #28 on: April 26, 2011, 04:35:53 AM »
Tech,

I had the same problem when trying to fix a problem a little over a month ago.  I could not restore to any prior date.  I had done restores multiple times, with Avast installed, with no problems.  Threads below might help....maybe...no idea if that was the problem with restore but it was a BIG problem.

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=76974.0


Offline homedog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
Re: avast and Windows 7 System Restore
« Reply #29 on: April 26, 2011, 05:02:43 AM »
here is the other thread  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=76974.0

One other thing I noticed when the computer slow-down problems started was tht the Cleaner function of CCleaner was not finding near as many files to delete.  Once getting rid of the Alureon problem, the file size that was found went back (up) to what I was seeing before.