Author Topic: Sandbox modification  (Read 2765 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yorkshire lass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Sandbox modification
« on: April 26, 2011, 09:11:18 AM »
I have just enabled the sandbox to automatically scan. I then ran the test to see if it was working properly and a message popped up saying " Modify System". The sandbox seems to be working as when I opened a photo editing application another message popped up to say that Avast had automatically placed the application in the sandbox. I am using the free edition 6 of Avast; please can you tell me how I modify the system ?

Offline logos

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9442
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 09:42:13 AM »
modify what ??? ;D ... that was just the test, an attempt to write entries to the registry, ie when you click on "modify system", if the entries are still actually written, it would mean that the sandbox doesn't work, just a test okay, there's nothing to modify ::)
w7 - ais7

Offline yorkshire lass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2011, 01:19:08 PM »
Thank you . Still don't see why it's posted though. If there's nothing to modify why tell me to do it ?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2011, 01:33:42 PM »
As posted before, it's an autosandbox trigger file.
It's NOT a sandbox efficiency test tool.
The best things in life are free.

Offline yorkshire lass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2011, 01:52:23 PM »
Thank you , I understand now! I was given the link by someone who said it was a test for the sandbox. Apologies for being so thick !

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2011, 01:55:09 PM »
No, don't worry. Living and learning.
Welcome to forums :)
The best things in life are free.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2011, 01:59:54 PM »
I love the Yorkshire accent.
It reminds me when I was growing up in Durham a long time ago.
Welcome to the forum.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline yorkshire lass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2011, 02:07:57 PM »
I love the Yorkshire accent.
It reminds me when I was growing up in Durham a long time ago.
Welcome to the forum.
I didn't realise that I had a Yorkshire accent online !  ;D

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2011, 02:23:55 PM »
I love the Yorkshire accent.
It reminds me when I was growing up in Durham a long time ago.
Welcome to the forum.
I didn't realise that I had a Yorkshire accent online !  ;D
I watch the TV (telly) program The Royal each week to keep my ear tuned to the accent:
http://www.nicholasrhea.co.uk/heartbeat/royal.html 
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline yorkshire lass

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2011, 02:29:36 PM »

I didn't realise that I had a Yorkshire accent online !  ;D[/quote]
I watch the TV (telly) program The Royal each week to keep my ear tuned to the accent:
http://www.nicholasrhea.co.uk/heartbeat/royal.html 
[/quote]

Well, I live about 15 miles away from Scarborough where "The Royal" is filmed so I guess that I will sound like one of the locals!

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Sandbox modification
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2011, 02:48:00 PM »
I went to Scarborough and Whitby many times and all the towns around where I live have these names.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS