Author Topic: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M  (Read 5777 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

flako

  • Guest
For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« on: April 20, 2011, 05:27:23 PM »
    Hi, I'm trying avast 5.0.889 free in a network of 30 pc.
    The desktop (windows XP SP3) end up with little memory
   
    PC, with 1GB only use IE / Firefox / MS OFFICE 2003, the remaining windows with 5-30MB free.
    There seems to be a virus, when I see the task manager does not consumes way too avast "memory usege"y, but reached the "peak mem usage" 600/800MB
    Almost one might say that avast does not stop releasing the memory used by ... :)
    I changed many of the parameters of avast, but it is happening (not to repeat the error, only when the user calls)
    It's something of the configuration of avast? there is a list of tips that allow you to configure avast so that is at least
intrusive?

   Thanks for getting here.

pdt: if this is google traslate, (my Spanish is worse ..:))

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1793
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2011, 09:47:24 PM »
probably best use v6
https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

flako

  • Guest
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2011, 01:52:32 PM »
probably best use v6

Hello Dwarden
Yes, I am testing on a PC. and better analysis of avast log.
I do not want is to install "avast 6 " on all PC and see that the error happens again by bad configuration ....

I will comment later.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76035
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2011, 04:44:54 PM »
Yes, I am testing on a PC. and better analysis of avast log.
I do not want is to install "avast 6 " on all PC and see that the error happens again by bad configuration ....

Why do you test outdated versions..???
Nobody will use 5.0.889 again... (hopefully..!)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2011, 04:50:46 PM »
Hi, I'm trying avast 5.0.889 free in a network of 30 pc.
Do you have 30 PC in your home? ???
The best things in life are free.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76035
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2011, 04:55:46 PM »
Hi, I'm trying avast 5.0.889 free in a network of 30 pc.
Do you have 30 PC in your home? ???

Maybe he lives in a castle. ;D
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

flako

  • Guest
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2011, 05:32:09 PM »
Hi, I'm trying avast 5.0.889 free in a network of 30 pc.
Do you have 30 PC in your home? ???

Maybe he lives in a castle. ;D

If .. a castle, but a castle of cards:)
The idea is to test the free avast before buying .. , 60 days of trial, there is little time to time you spend on IT (and fulfilled .. past 60 days, one began to see problems ...)


flako

  • Guest
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2011, 05:35:55 PM »
Yes, I am testing on a PC. and better analysis of avast log.
I do not want is to install "avast 6 " on all PC and see that the error happens again by bad configuration ....

Why do you test outdated versions..???
Nobody will use 5.0.889 again... (hopefully..!)
asyn


When one began to try avast, was only available 5.x :(

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76035
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2011, 05:50:16 PM »
The idea is to test the free avast before buying ..

You don't have to pay for the free version. ;)

When one began to try avast, was only available 5.x :(

Seems you're a slow tester. ;)
You can download the latest version here: http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

flako

  • Guest
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2011, 06:19:12 PM »
Seems you're a slow tester. ;)


Slow yo .. I'm fast & furious, it's just to do multiple tasks make the response time is slow ... :)

As for paying the free version .. I understand that it is legal / allowed to have free avast in business environments.

Now I am by testing avast 6 with a process of better quality .. (as it should have done the first time ..)

Avast test after 6, install avast 6, I hope that is not available avast 7.0 before you finish:)

Greetings

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76035
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2011, 06:23:52 PM »
1. As for paying the free version .. I understand that it is legal / allowed to have free avast in business environments.

2. Now I am by testing avast 6 with a process of better quality .. (as it should have done the first time ..)

3. Avast test after 6, install avast 6, I hope that is not available avast 7.0 before you finish:)

1. No, it isn't.
2. Good. :)
3. No, you'll have to wait for version 7 until next year. ;)
asyn
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2011, 01:02:31 AM »
When one began to try avast, was only available 5.x :(
Please, upload (attach) the avast log of one of that machines: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\Setup\setup.log
(or the shorter C:\Users\All Users\Alwil Software\Avast5\log\Setup.log).

If the file is too big for the forum, post the last 400-500 lines of it.

As for paying the free version .. I understand that it is legal / allowed to have free avast in business environments.
No, only strictly home and non-commercial usage as stated in site/EULA.

Avast test after 6, install avast 6, I hope that is not available avast 7.0 before you finish:)
avast policy allows upgrade of version during the license time period.
The best things in life are free.

flako

  • Guest
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2011, 03:30:05 PM »
    Hello, a attachment setup.log avast 5.0 pc of one of the problems.

    As use avast free, if you knew .. (I read the license), I just forget to put "NOT" before the "allowed"  :(    (the objective is to regulate the issue of license)

    Tech, now I'm planning to "migrate to avast6"on all pc, I've tested this week and configured to be minimally intrusive, only behavior module, web and real-time (all with exclusions taken from the log of each module .)

     I have not discussed is the setup.log that analyze it? (some documentation to read?)

     Thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: For "peak mem usage" high y free memory 30M
« Reply #13 on: April 30, 2011, 03:42:12 PM »
Well, you can't use avast free in a business environment.
avast 6 was not released yet (UNFORTUNATELY) for business, you need to deploy avast 4.8
The log shows no apparent error (except that temporarily it cannot reach the update server).
The best things in life are free.