Author Topic: how to use avast?  (Read 2859 times)

mathair4

how to use avast?
« on: May 12, 2011, 03:52:47 AM »
I'm not very tech savvy, and have never had antivirus software before. I actually had a virus and a computer repair tech put avast on my computer to prevent that from happening again. The problem is I have no idea what I'm supposed to be doing with it!  I can't download anything from the internet! For example, I was trying to watch a video online and I got a popup that I needed Adobe Flash player, and later I was trying to post something on Craigslist and it said I needed Adobe reader,so I tried to download them, straight from the Adobe website. The first time I tried, the "autosandbox" popup came up and asked me if I wanted to open the program in there, so I said "yes", because I figured that sounded like a good idea.  Then it said "downloading"... forever, then NOTHING!  I tried downloading adobe reader and I had the same problem, except now the autosandbox popup doesn't even come up.  Like I said, I know absolutely nothing about how this stuff works- am I supposed to be opening some virtual sandbox and letting Adobe flash player out of it?  lol Can someone please explain to me- and PLEASE in very simple terms; just to give you an idea of how much I know about computers, I had to have someone show me today how to save pictures to a flash drive. :) I have Windows Vista if that helps.  If all else fails,  and I know everyone in this forum is probably going to hate me for this, but is there a way to turn off Avast completely so that I can download stuff? I might just have to take my chances if I can't use half the websites I like.

jimmy556

Re: how to use avast?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2011, 03:57:25 AM »