Author Topic: Avast is preventing certain programs from running!  (Read 5088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« on: October 19, 2004, 07:20:27 PM »
Hello!

I tried running ArcSoft PhotoStudio 2000 setup.exe but nothing happens.

I also cant get any bios updates to work from

http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/en/download/download.php?pFILE_TYPE=Bios&pFUN_KEY=8000&pTITLE_IMG=/download/images/download.gif

I tried 3 at random and they all do not work. When you run one of the *.exe it will extract and create the bios update files to the same location as the *.exe file..

I unistalled Avast and they all work.

I have tried this on 2 PC's, same result. Avast must be uninstalled for any abit bios.exe to work and Arcsoft photo studio 2000 setup.exe.

A bug with avast?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2004, 07:22:11 PM by DukeNukem »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 07:21:59 PM »
It is always recommended to do a bios update from a dos bootfloppy and NOT from within Windows.

For the other things:
- any errors in Avast log file?
- any errors in the system and/or event log?
- What version of Windows?
- What version of Avast?
- What firewall?
- Any other security software?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2004, 07:23:22 PM by Eddy »

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 07:23:34 PM »
U mis understood my problem.

I cant extract the files i need to flash a bios by running the exe file from abit if avast is present.

« Last Edit: October 19, 2004, 07:24:57 PM by DukeNukem »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2004, 07:26:46 PM »
Abit's bios files extract perfectly when you boot from a floppy, no need to do it from within Windows. And what about the questions, can you answer them please?

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2004, 07:31:15 PM »
- any errors in Avast log file?
no

- any errors in the system and/or event log?
no

- What version of Windows?
xp pro + sp2

- What version of Avast?
4.1 home

- What firewall?
none - using routers NAT based firewall

- Any other security software?
nope

Well i always extracted the files in windows, it should work.

Can someone with avast 4.1 home try and extract any bios from abit and see if it works?


Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2004, 07:34:25 PM »
Which exact one on that Abit site are you trying? I'm want to try it here.

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2004, 07:35:07 PM »
Any it doesnt matter.

I picked 3 at random and they all dont work


Edit : If you want to try one i picked then here is one,

 ftp://ftp.abit.com.tw/pub/download/bios/sd7-533/sd7aeg.exe
« Last Edit: October 19, 2004, 07:39:18 PM by DukeNukem »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2004, 07:42:43 PM »
OK, I just tired 5 of them on 3 different systems. Only 1 gave an error, but it was an error we already know how to deal with.

open config.nt and put a REM in front of the line "device=C:\... path ...\aswmonds.sys"

This is a known issue with the 16bit dos subsystem in Windows XP and Avast. See if it helps you.

Offline DukeNukem

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2004, 07:47:21 PM »
 :P

ArcSoft setup.exe and all the abit bios.exe's work.

* DukeNukem gives Eddy a very Big chocochip cookie

Thanks.

will this be fixed in avast 4.5?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2004, 07:47:57 PM by DukeNukem »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2004, 07:52:03 PM »
I forgot to mention that it has a down site. Putting that REM there prevents Avast from scanning dos(based) applications. I am not sure if it will be fixed in the next release, but let's hope so.

In the mean time you can always remove that REM when you are done to enable dos scanning again.

Got any more of those cookies? ;D ;D ;D

Offline CafeNut

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2004, 08:00:54 PM »
Eddy...
I have a similar issue with a program on one of our computers.  Avast was installed and now we can not access the program used for paying field reps.  They will not be happy tomorrow morning!

WinXP Home (SP2)
No other security software (unistalled before avast was installed)
Avast 4.1 Pro

Is there something I can look for in the execution language?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31311
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Avast is preventing certain programs from running!
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2004, 08:11:40 PM »
CafeNut, perhaps time to upgrade the application to a 32bit version for them?

Give the solution I mentioned here a try in the mean time.