Author Topic: old vdb  (Read 5555 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 1902

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
old vdb
« on: October 19, 2004, 04:33:52 AM »
I was wondering why when I start my pc I get a red pop up from avast saying that I am using an old vdb, please update. I have registered my version (4.1) and tried to update everything there is to update but still get the red pop up. Could it be from a new file I discovered? I click on start, my computer, and there is a new file I do not recognise called ied_7sm. Seems to be some sort of zip file, I have not deleted it or opened it as I am afraid this may be a virus in waiting that avast can not see because of the error message. Any help? thanks.

Offline CharleyO

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7087
  • Be alert for error code - ID 10T
Re:old vdb
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 06:22:30 AM »
*

Is that the full name of the file ... no extention such as exe, txt, and so forth?
Self-built desktop (8 years old) - AMD64 3200+_Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra-939_4 gb RAM_GeForceFX 5800w/256 ram_XP/SP3_Avast 7_MBAM_ZA Free __and__ Toshiba Satellite Laptop_W7-64bit_ 4 gb Ram_Avast 8_MBAM

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:old vdb
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2004, 12:31:17 PM »
What vps version do you have? (current is 442-3)
Are there any errors in Avast's log file?
What version of Avast (home or pro)?
What OS are you using?
Do you use a proxy server?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re:old vdb
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2004, 01:42:01 PM »
1902, can you manually update avast?
Which is your firewall (besides Windows internal one)?
The best things in life are free.

Offline 1902

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:old vdb
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2004, 07:45:49 PM »
ok, I messed up! What the actual pop up says (Iwrote it down this time) is: You are using an old vps (Virus Database) file: 0424-3 Please update. I run winxp home, I use Sygate as a firewall, bingo I think I will check with the firewall to see if it is allowing Avast to connect, and no there is no .exe and the version is 4.1 home Edition and I have tried to click on both icons and update everything that says update.. By the way, anyone got a clue as to what this ied_s7m file cabinet is on my local disk? I downloaded and run cwshredder, updated spybots&d and it is still there.

Offline 1902

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:old vdb
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2004, 07:47:56 PM »
just checked in with sygate, all avast programs where already set to always allow acsess

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:old vdb
« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2004, 07:54:23 PM »
Disable Sygate for now and see if Avast is able to update. It wouldn't be the first time a firewall prevents Avast from updating and rules need to be setup again.

Offline 1902

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re:old vdb
« Reply #7 on: October 19, 2004, 10:02:23 PM »
Eddy, diabled firewall, avast now says it is updated, thanks!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31350
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:old vdb
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2004, 10:28:43 PM »
OK, so now you know what caused it. Try to remove all rules from the firewall and set them up again. If that fails, remove the firewall, reboot and reinstall.

One of these should take care of the problem. Good luck ;)