Author Topic: ZA install with AvastPro  (Read 3579 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PaulineM

  • Guest
ZA install with AvastPro
« on: June 10, 2011, 04:59:38 PM »
It's about time to renew my ZAPro.  ZA recommends I uninstall all third party AV.  Up to now I am running ZAPro and AvastPro together, no problems. 
Question:  If I uninstall AvastPro, how do I reinstall?  I have a paid a/c with Avast.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 05:07:16 PM »
I suggest that you read this, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=79696.0.

So your happy circumstance is more by luck than design.

Having two resident anti-virus scanners installed is one too many and not recommended as rather than provide twice the protection it can cause conflicts that could leave you more vulnerable.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 05:55:36 PM »
Follow David's advices, words of wisdom.
The best things in life are free.

PaulineM

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2011, 08:08:14 PM »
okay, David.  May I folow up with another question:  I've had my Windows firewall turned off while using ZA.  (Windows XP, Home Ed., ver.2002, SP3).  Do you recommend turning that back on and using with Avast Pro (ver. 6.0.1125)?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2011, 08:15:10 PM »
avast Pro is an antivirus only, don't have a firewall.
You need to turn Windows firewall ON (or ZoneAlarm firewall only, without the antivirus).
The best things in life are free.

PaulineM

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2011, 11:19:01 PM »
Sorry, but now I am confused.  I believe ZA Pro is just a firewall, not an AV.  Someone may want to correct me.  Anyway, that's why I have been using both ZA Pro (firewall) and Avast AV.   

rdmaloyjr

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2011, 02:36:11 PM »
Sorry, but now I am confused.  I believe ZA Pro is just a firewall, not an AV.  Someone may want to correct me.  Anyway, that's why I have been using both ZA Pro (firewall) and Avast AV.   

Yes, ZA Pro is just a firewall.

I have used ZA Pro with avast! Free, great combo.

ZA Pro and avast! Pro is even better. :)

ZA Free and avast! Free is good, also.

Currently I'm using ZA Free, MSE and WinPatrol.




Offline SpeedyPC

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3357
  • Avast shall conquer the whole world
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2011, 02:44:05 PM »

Currently I'm using ZA Free, MSE and WinPatrol.

Are you given up on avast for being so chicken with MSE :o man! no wonder you've being laying so many bad eggs
ASUS G75VX-T4153H | Avast Premium v22.4.6011 | Avast SecureLine VPN | Avast Secure Browser | Avast Driver Updater | Avast BreachGuard | W8.1 64bit | Firefox 64bit | Thunderbird 64bit | MBAM Premium | Adguard Premium | CryptoPrevent Premium | CCleaner Portable | MCShield | Macrium Reflect | 7-Zip

PaulineM

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2011, 05:06:10 PM »
Thanks, rdmaloyjr.  I'm getting mixed signals here.  Maybe my fault for not making myself clear.  I'm using both ZAPro (firewall) and Avast Pro (antivirus) now, both paid programs.
If I have to uninstall Avast, how do I re-install without losing my current subscription.   So guess I'm back to my original question.  (At this point, I'm tempted to dump one or the other if it's complicated.)

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2011, 05:17:40 PM »
If you have saved the license file license.avastlic that was sent, then you just use that again after you reinstall (as you did when you first installed).

If you haven't saved it you can have it send again - Resend avast License http://www.avast.com/resend-license-paid.php, you will need to enter the email that you used when purchasing the license, e.g. the one that the original email with the link was sent.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

rdmaloyjr

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2011, 08:25:53 PM »

Currently I'm using ZA Free, MSE and WinPatrol.

Are you given up on avast for being so chicken with MSE :o man! no wonder you've being laying so many bad eggs

What bad eggs?  If I downloaded Comodo fw and installed it I would've layed a very bad egg!  I Gotcha there!

PaulineM

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2011, 09:22:54 PM »
David:  Thank you for your instructions.  I do have my license file license.avist that was sent as an attachment.  I presume I just go to Avast site to download since the link on the email says it's only good for seven days.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2011, 09:45:57 PM »
Yes get it from the main avast site.

Direct link for avast 6.0.1125 Pro, http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_pro.exe.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

PaulineM

  • Guest
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2011, 04:18:54 AM »
Thank you for the link, David.  You've been a big help.  Cheers! 

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86651
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ZA install with AvastPro
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2011, 04:36:32 AM »
No problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security