Author Topic: Tweak network settings  (Read 5289 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Tweak network settings
« on: October 22, 2004, 04:26:54 PM »
hi all

I have just installed the firefox extension "Tweak network settings" and from there set it to "power", does anyone know if this is safe, it seems to of speeded up the browser but thought i would check with you lot to make sure i havn't done anything stupid.

--lee
« Last Edit: October 22, 2004, 04:27:30 PM by lee16 »

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2004, 04:32:21 PM »
Yes you have done something stupid. First installing and using something and then asking if it is ok to do so. The other way around would make more sense ;D ;D ;D

First ask, than do. ;)
« Last Edit: October 22, 2004, 04:32:49 PM by Eddy »

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2004, 04:36:00 PM »
Eddy, if it could of ment the death of my system then i would of done it that way around  ;) and nothing could go to wrong considering it was a firefox update, but as nothing has gone wrong with my system in a while, i felt a breaking is long overdue.
Also, is there anything you can say on the actual program.

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9387
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2004, 05:14:35 PM »
This tweak is perfectly safe. I have been using it for a very long time now through hidden settings (about:config in URL).

Click on Power button and change Pipelining maxrequests to: 100

You should see biggest performance improvement on sites with large number of small images (like thumbnails).
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

conazus

  • Guest
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2004, 05:43:16 PM »
Ive been using it for a little while also.    Seems safe to me, and Ive noticed a speed difference on some sites...

Thanks RejZor for that pipelining max requests setting.    It sure does work :)

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85967
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2004, 06:09:58 PM »
For those that are using it, are you also using dial-up connection?

The reason I ask is I'm sure that I have seen something about max pipelining in the (forums.mozillazine.org) tweaking firefox forum thread and if I remember rightly there are different settings depending on your connection.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2004, 06:13:08 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

conazus

  • Guest
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2004, 06:27:43 PM »
David - cable modem here...   noticed a huge diff when first installing the extension and even moreso after uping the maxpipe to 100 earlier

I realize this is off topic... but still about Firefox and speed  :)   Im still having a problem with Firefox loading up slowly...  seems like it takes forever to come up,  whereas IE pops right up.    I do not have a ton of extensions installed.    I noticed someone in here had said there is infor at Mozillazine about this,  but I couldnt find anything I could understand   ::)
« Last Edit: October 22, 2004, 06:28:24 PM by connie »

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #7 on: October 22, 2004, 06:45:57 PM »
Thanks for the help people

Connie, i belive firefox loads slower when u initialy open it because it is not inbuilt into windows like IE is.

--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85967
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2004, 06:53:07 PM »
Is that when you click on a link and have to open the browser or when opening the browser only?

I would try the search on the mozilla forums 'slow loading' or slow startup' and reduce the number of categories or forums that you search.

Is there anything in the FAQ threads?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

conazus

  • Guest
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2004, 06:55:47 PM »
David.. its when opening the browser only...

Lee  humm...  that seems to make sense  :)     Yet,  all other programs used on this system come up instantly   ???

Edit:  I'll do a search over at Mozilla .. gotta go pick up the other half at the airport soon. so it'll wait til later  :)
« Last Edit: October 22, 2004, 06:57:40 PM by connie »

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85967
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2004, 07:07:58 PM »
Mine loads ok when only opening it as browser only, perhaps because I have it set to use a blank page as my start-up page.

It is obviously a little slower when opening from a web link.

This is also an overhead loading numerous extensions.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9387
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2004, 07:20:27 PM »
IE loads faster because its core is always resident. It just needs to render the GUI and its up. Firefox doesn't do this,thats why it loads slower.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

conazus

  • Guest
Re:Tweak network settings
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2004, 06:42:34 PM »
**Update**      David, Rezjor,  Lee.    I reformatted , and reloaded everything , yesterday and now Firefox is loading up in just under 3 seconds.   Exact same extensions.     I need to reformatt the other pc in the house sometime today as well,  and will see what happens with that one.   Evidently it had to be something else slowin it down   >:(