Author Topic: INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA  (Read 100828 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #15 on: October 23, 2004, 05:11:43 PM »
Btw, Vlk surprised me again with the beta release :o
So, I suggest to check the English version of the Beta preferably - I'm not sure if all the resources of non-English versions have been updated yet (which may result even in a crash of the program). I'll fix it as soon as possible.

Igor, will we, the non-English, be in danger?
I finished the update and will boot to see what I get  ;)
The best things in life are free.

inthewildteam

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #16 on: October 23, 2004, 05:31:49 PM »
XP Pro, Firefox ver 1 preview release, Thunderbird ver 0.8, Prevx home, Outpost free firewall.

Absolutely painless install, everything working including email scanning.

pask

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #17 on: October 23, 2004, 05:40:26 PM »
Btw, Vlk surprised me again with the beta release :o
So, I suggest to check the English version of the Beta preferably - I'm not sure if all the resources of non-English versions have been updated yet (which may result even in a crash of the program). I'll fix it as soon as possible.

Igor, will we, the non-English, be in danger?
I finished the update and will boot to see what I get  ;)
As i posted previously, i use the italian version without any problems on a Windows 98 SE.
Later, i will test it on a Windows XP Machine  ;)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11809
    • AVAST Software
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #18 on: October 23, 2004, 05:54:09 PM »
Igor, will we, the non-English, be in danger? I finished the update and will boot to see what I get  ;)

Well, I wouldn't call it a danger, but theoretically, some problems may occur in specific parts of the program.
I hope the beta will be updated soon to a newer version.
« Last Edit: October 23, 2004, 05:54:35 PM by igor »

lee16

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2004, 06:01:57 PM »
BETA version working fine for me  ;)

---lee

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2004, 06:12:24 PM »
Very good improment!!! THANKS

The email scanner works with the Thunderbird without the tricks...  ;D
The new skin is great!
« Last Edit: October 23, 2004, 07:12:00 PM by VaMPiRiC_CRoW »
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

DukeNukem

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2004, 06:48:33 PM »
Hello!

Network Shield

Sensitivity : Normal | High | Custom

Whats the difference between Normal and High?

 :P

DukeNukem

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #22 on: October 23, 2004, 07:02:10 PM »
avast! - help: resident protection
Network Shield - Provider Settings

Network Shield provider protects your computer from Internet worm attacks. It works similarly to a firewall, even though it does not fully substitutes it. The Network Shield does not require any user interraction.

Note: This resident provider is available on Windows NT, 2000, XP, and 2003 only.

Normal. The setting does not have any meaning for this provider.
High. The setting does not have any meaning for this provider.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Answered my own question.

Damn im clever  ;D

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9391
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #23 on: October 23, 2004, 07:31:40 PM »
I have replaced server.def with old one after installing 4.5. Is this ok for VPS or not. Last time i was testing BETA,i was unable to update VPS.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 46606
  • 61 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #24 on: October 23, 2004, 07:37:07 PM »
Thanks to all at Alwil. I've spent my $39.95 and it is worth every penny of it.
You can add me to the happy ;D ;D avast! Pro users group.
Vlk:
Your instillation instructions where flawless. I didn't even have to play with the e-mail settings.
Great Job and well worth the wait.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9391
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #25 on: October 23, 2004, 07:43:17 PM »
Internet Mail protection for POP3 works without any problems.
It has completed every test i have thrown at avast! with very good results.
All GFI tests were detected heuristically,EICAR was detected with signatures and Vulnerability exploits were excluded because they were Outlook (Express) only related.
Also all inbound/outbound EICAR files were detected no matter how i recieved/sent them.

I'll test other parts too if possible :)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #26 on: October 23, 2004, 07:50:02 PM »
RejZoR, it's not a good idea to put back the original servers.def. In fact I'd say it may cause updating problems.

The fact that you couldn't get latest VPS' with the previous beta releases was our fault. This time there should be no problems though...
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9391
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #27 on: October 23, 2004, 08:06:46 PM »
Oh,thanks. I backed up the file just in case ;)

Is this a glitch or Skinless interface cannot be launched via ashSimpl.exe ?
Even if i check or uncheck the setting,it won't change. If i run through Start avast! Antivirus command on "a" ball it changes to skinless mode.

I'm also wondering why you don't add options to disable "a" ball spinning, VRDB database generation intervals rate changing,ability to adjust how many lines to show for "Show detailed info on performed action", also option to disable update popup/error popup (and leave only sounds that virus database has been updated). I belive this shouldn't take too much time and resources to impliment. I know its available via my tweaker and Technicals descriptions,but many users want to see this in program itself.
Think about it ;)
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

conazus

  • Guest
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2004, 08:13:18 PM »
Oh,thanks. I backed up the file just in case ;)

Is this a glitch or Skinless interface cannot be launched via ashSimpl.exe ?
Even if i check or uncheck the setting,it won't change. If i run through Start avast! Antivirus command on "a" ball it changes to skinless mode.

 

If I click on the "a" ball and then Start avast Antivirus I dont get skinlees mode  ???  I get the skin I was using before I did the update.. hmm

there is a ashSimpll2.exe in the folder now..   i get skinless if i click on that

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:INTRODUCING: avast! Home/Pro 4.5 BETA
« Reply #29 on: October 23, 2004, 08:14:23 PM »
Quote
Is this a glitch or Skinless interface cannot be launched via ashSimpl.exe ? Even if i check or uncheck the setting,it won't change. If i run through Start avast! Antivirus command on "a" ball it changes to skinless mode.

:) ashSimpl.exe is the skinned interface. ashSimp2.exe is the skinless. It's as simple as that.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.