Author Topic: [NOT SOLVED] AIS not updated properly!  (Read 14271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
[NOT SOLVED] AIS not updated properly!
« on: June 25, 2011, 05:49:44 AM »
I apologize for not knowing English. Any error here is because I'm using Google Translate.

-----
The problem of my Avast is: was using the AIS 6.0.1125, 16.6.2011 installed days, since the AV did not want to update itself, always giving an error and showing that red window telling me to update manually. Sometimes I could upgrade, but not others, gave "the package is corrupt." The problem is that manually updating the AIS back to say that is outdated and that the latest version is 110616 (16/06/2011). But how can this be the last if I am on 24.06.2011 and he had just upgrade to this date?

That's it. He no longer updates automatically, and when I update manually, only applies in the first, when I upgrade the second time in days, AIS reports that the latest version is installed when (6/16/2011), and we are almost 10 days after I installed.

Solution to see if I could, I installed the BETA version 6.0.1184 of the AIS and face the same problem. Today is June 25, 2011, the database is the BETA version of the day 23/06/2011 AIS and even upgraded to 24/06/2011 days he says he's outdated and that the latest version is from day 23 / 06/2011.

This is not an issue of BETA, as I said, was the same when I installed the version "stable" on 16.6.2011 6.0.1125.

We thank you for your help.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2011, 11:45:27 PM by Mar. »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72857
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 07:39:08 AM »
Repair avast:
1. Control Panel - Add/Remove programs - avast!
2. Scroll down and click on 'Repair'.
3. Follow instructions.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 09:20:47 PM »
Not solved!

I uninstalled the AIS with the removal tool "aswclear" and installed the BETA version. Yet the problem remains, because it says the last update is from 110623-1 day and today is June 25.

That's the problem with AVAST server, because once in a while says "broken packages" or "error 404".

Someone else is going through this?

AIS servers are ok?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72857
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 09:26:03 PM »
Not solved!

Did you try a repair yet..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 09:40:11 PM »
Not solved!

Did you try a repair yet..??


I did the fix and rebooted the machine. It did not help.

The problem happens when the AIS will update the second time. Then he says that the latest version is 110623-1. If I try to update manually, sometimes I can not stop updated today with 110625-0.

But when the new AV will get a new update gives error and says it is outdated and that the latest version is to 110623-1.

This is in BETA. The version that was installed before 6.0.1125, always said that the latest version of the database was 110616-0 days (days I installed AIS).

This installation (6.0.1125) has been completely removed with the Avast removal tool. Now I'm using the 6.0.1184.

Unfortunately the problem continues in the new version. The program always says that the current database is the day I installed.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72857
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #5 on: June 25, 2011, 09:44:27 PM »
Download and run this: http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/vpsupd.exe
Solved..??
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2011, 10:25:39 PM »
Download and run this: http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/vpsupd.exe
Solved..??

ERROR:

This program updates VPS database only for program version 5.0.1125 or less.
Installed program version is 5.0.1184
Please download the latest vpsupdate again.

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2011, 07:53:22 AM »
There are images of what is happening to me:

1

2


The language is Brazilian Portuguese, but you can all understand if they take into account the share of attention.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72857
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2011, 10:04:22 AM »
Click on: "Atualizar definicoes de virus"
This should fix it.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline selen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2011, 10:47:59 AM »
Click on: "Atualizar definicoes de virus"
This should fix it.
The same problem has happened one time on my avast, on all my 3 computers. I had tried to click on "update the latest virus definition" but the problem remained.The Only thing that fixed the problem was a system restore. When my computer restarted after the restore avast updated correctly and (I don't know how and why) the problem was solved...

Offline Mar.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2011, 06:58:29 PM »
@ ASYN
It does not work. Every time I click to update this error occurs, stating that the most current version is "weeks" ago.

@ selen
I did a system restore and "apparently" worked. Except that there was another problem. The AIS does not want to upgrade. Every time gives error: "the package is corrupted" and never downloads the update.

Offline selen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2011, 07:26:38 PM »
@ ASYN
It does not work. Every time I click to update this error occurs, stating that the most current version is "weeks" ago.

@ selen
I did a system restore and "apparently" worked. Except that there was another problem. The AIS does not want to upgrade. Every time gives error: "the package is corrupted" and never downloads the update.
I'm sorry, I don't know what to say...each time avast give me this problem I use to solve it with a system restore, but I have avast free and not AIS.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72857
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2011, 08:44:59 AM »
The AIS does not want to upgrade. Every time gives error: "the package is corrupted" and never downloads the update.

Try the repair now. (See Reply #1)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline ady4um

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2667
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2011, 09:33:54 AM »
If Asyn's suggestion doesn't work, may I suggest a more "conservative" approach?

Re-download Avast STABLE FREE (not beta, not AIS). (BTW, is there any MD5 or SHA1 checksum?)

Start Windows into Safe Mode. Run the clean uninstall tool for ALL versions / folders of Avast, rebooting between each uninstallation.

Delete old firewall rules related to Avast, if you have any (even if they seem correct). This includes the default Windows Firewall.

Reboot TWICE into Windows normal mode after the last Avast's uninstallation and firewall rules deletion.

Make a restore point and name it clearly. Reboot.

Double check you have ALL Windows updates and that Windows is still Validated (don't "assume").

Confirm you are connected to the Internet before Avast is installed.

Install Avast using custom installation. Select what you think is appropriate. If you are completely sure that some component of Avast is NOT the problem, skip it from the installation. Yes, do NOT install what you already COMPLETELY KNOW (as oppose to "think") is NOT the problem, so to minimize the components that need evaluation/test. If you are not sure 200%, install all basic components of Avast STABLE FREE.

REBOOT again.

Wait a couple of minutes after each reboot. Windows GUI may seem ready, but the processes/services may not.

Confirm you are connected to the Internet, check Avast's connection settings and then try to update Avast.

Reboot.

If the FREE STABLE version works, then repeat the procedure with AIS STABLE.

If the FREE STABLE version does NOT work, then repeat the procedure with FREE BETA.

If FREE BETA works, then try the procedure with AIS BETA.

It may sound "too much", but it is a more "conservative" and "step-by-step" procedure so to identify the problem.
ADD/REMOVE PROGS -> avast -> CHANGE/REMOVE -> REPAIR & REBOOT
Avast! 7 FAQ | FAQ & KB | Docs | Removal Utils | Configure Mail Shield | report FP | License Registration | UNSECURED?

Offline BarnaS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: AIS not updated properly!
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2011, 03:20:37 PM »
Hello! I had the same problem but I was using comodo firewall. That was the problem.
If you are using a firewall see if it is not blocking avast.