Author Topic: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro  (Read 3313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ePlay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« on: June 27, 2011, 10:29:31 AM »
Will they work good together, and how much does malwarebytes pro take memory. and what is the thinks that i should think of

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11074
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 11:20:58 AM »
Yes they work well together, memory usage varys from one system to the next, about 30/40 meg on my system which raises to about 80 meg when scanning.

Offline ePlay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 08:01:07 PM »
and do i have to put something in the exlude section

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11074
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2011, 08:13:43 PM »
You can add the c:\windows\temp\_avast_ folder to the ignore list in malwarebytes, that should be all that is needed.
If you happen to get any freezing then add each others program files to one another.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2011, 05:50:58 AM by craigb »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84427
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2011, 09:16:09 PM »
That path should be c:\windows\temp\_avast_
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.10.2442 (build 20.10.5824.618) UI-1.0.591/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline ePlay

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 10:38:04 PM »
thanks, but shoul i put somthing to avast

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84427
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2011, 11:31:50 PM »
I have never done so and I haven't experienced a problem, I'm of the school of I don't take these actions unless there is a real not perceived conflict.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.10.2442 (build 20.10.5824.618) UI-1.0.591/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DonZ63

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 469
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2011, 12:35:15 AM »
What about the DPC Latency issue between Avast 6 web shield and MBAM Pro IP blocker? Has that been fixed?
AMD QUAD 945, 8 GB, NVidia GTS 450, 3 HDDs
Dual boot, MBAM Pro - both OSes, WIN 7 x64 SP1, NAV 2012, IE9; XP SP3, NIS 2011, IE8

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84427
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2011, 01:07:37 AM »
I haven't noticed any whilst I had it enabled, but to be honest I found it to be more of a pain in the rear, it is too discriminating, which much of what it blocks being very low key.

I also don't believe it brings much to the party when you have both the avast Network and Web Shields. So on this system I have it disabled.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.10.2442 (build 20.10.5824.618) UI-1.0.591/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11074
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast IS And MalwareBytes Pro
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2011, 05:54:28 AM »
That path should be c:\windows\temp\_avast_
You got me David, was very late at night and brain was already asleep  ;D