Author Topic: avast and filemon  (Read 9965 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ziffete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
avast and filemon
« on: October 26, 2004, 10:03:51 PM »
after installing avast I launched filemon ( http://www.sysinternals.com )
and I've seen that some avast processes keep accessing the disk
forever, even if there is no activity.

as an example the process ashDisp.exe or ashServ.exe keeps reading
avast4.ini forever, for no apparent reason...

isn't this affecting performance of the computer ?
is it possible to stop avast doing this ? (I've tried stopping avast
using "stop on-access protection" but didn't help at all).

thanks.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2004, 10:15:27 PM »
The answer already has been given in several other threads.

Disk access is because ashServ.exe is a On-Access module.
This is perfectly normal behaviour.

Quote
is it possible to stop avast doing this ?
Yes it is possible, but you will be without protection from Avast ;D

Offline ziffete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2004, 10:43:13 PM »
didn't search before posting... sorry  :-[
I've found this thread:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=6215;start=msg47679#msg47679

the comments posted there are valid: why not checking avast.ini
less frequently, or using ReadDirectoryChangesW ?
or maybe they can use SQL Lite (http://www.hwaci.com/sw/sqlite)
or similar (instead of ms jet drivers), with possibly reducing
the size of the setup too.

thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2004, 12:25:09 AM »
Why not checking avast.ini
less frequently, or using ReadDirectoryChangesW ?
or maybe they can use SQL Lite (http://www.hwaci.com/sw/sqlite)
or similar (instead of ms jet drivers), with possibly reducing
the size of the setup too. thanks.

Can you try changing the storage method from ODBC to XML?
You can download 'Control' in my signature or directly edit avast4.ini file following the instructions of 'Settings'  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ziffete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2004, 12:04:40 PM »
please can you tell me what is different when using xml for the database ?
thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2004, 02:01:40 PM »
please can you tell me what is different when using xml for the database ?
thanks.


Browse at 'FAQ' on my signature  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline ziffete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2004, 02:24:23 PM »
ok, thank you.
I manually changed from odbc to xml, and (obviously) the .mdb isn't
accessed anymore, but this doesn't solve the continuos access to
avast.ini

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #7 on: October 27, 2004, 02:25:09 PM »
It really shouldn't affect the performance (that's why the Windows cache is there) - but I have reduced the access a little.

Offline ziffete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #8 on: October 27, 2004, 02:39:27 PM »
thanks

Offline OisteinR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Why not...
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2004, 11:09:35 PM »
It really shouldn't affect the performance (that's why the Windows cache is there)

...but it does on my computer..
Without the ashServ process running, the CPU usage is ~0,13%
When the process is running: ~0,8%

That means that this process eats a lot.....
i7 860 2.8GHZ, 8GB RAM, 1x250Gb Corsair SSD, 5x2TB HD, Windows 7 Professional 64bit, avast! V7.0.1401 AIS

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #10 on: October 27, 2004, 11:44:10 PM »
Quote
That means that this process eats a lot.....



Sorry but the numbers you quoted are IMHO actually well below statistical error. I mean, Windows system is inherently doing many things on the background (even if you don't see them in FileMon output) - like paging, compacting etc. that take nonzero CPU resources.

Aside from that, the access to the INI file of course virtually never touches the disk - it always comes from the cache (which is a very fast operation).


Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2004, 12:10:03 AM »
It really shouldn't affect the performance

Igor, my RAM problems were not solved with 4.5  :'(
Specially after a long time of inactivity (1 - 2 hours), when I resume the computer, bang, cpu usage goes between 90% - 95%... I must boot to use the computer with confort again...

RejZor's 'restart' option for avast! does not work for me with 4.5 version... just 'disable' avast but cannot start it again  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2004, 12:11:28 AM »
Quote
when I resume the computer, bang, cpu usage goes between 90% - 95%...


And which process is taking up the CPU? ashServ.exe??
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline OisteinR

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
  • Why not...
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #13 on: October 28, 2004, 12:16:50 AM »
Quote
That means that this process eats a lot.....



Sorry but the numbers you quoted are IMHO actually well below statistical error. I mean, Windows system is inherently doing many things on the background (even if you don't see them in FileMon output) - like paging, compacting etc. that take nonzero CPU resources.

Aside from that, the access to the INI file of course virtually never touches the disk - it always comes from the cache (which is a very fast operation).


Cheers
Vlk

Yes, you're right, it's no big problem.
I just have to remember to  stop the On-Access Protection when working with heavy audio projects.
....or switch to Database=XML.....which can't manage to keep the settings.....

Cheers
OisteinR
i7 860 2.8GHZ, 8GB RAM, 1x250Gb Corsair SSD, 5x2TB HD, Windows 7 Professional 64bit, avast! V7.0.1401 AIS

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:avast and filemon
« Reply #14 on: October 28, 2004, 12:19:18 AM »
And which process is taking up the CPU? ashServ.exe??

Sure  :-\
The best things in life are free.