Author Topic: bugs on avast website  (Read 12698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JohnnyBob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
  • Peace
bugs on avast website
« on: July 20, 2011, 07:47:26 AM »
FYI: You have a website bug at
http://www.avast.com/en-us/support#tab1

Please choose your product to continue
    * Free Antivirus
    * Internet Security
    * Pro Antivirus
    * Business Products

When I leftclick on the other tabs nothing happens. For example the links to http://www.avast.com/en-us/support#tab2 http://www.avast.com/en-us/support#tab3 and http://www.avast.com/en-us/support#tab4 are failing to connect. Only if I rightclick and open the link in a new browser tab or window, then it works correctly.

I've tried it with Firefox, Chrome, and Opera browsers with the same problem. I'm running XP SP3 with all the latest updates, as you can see in my signature.

I've noticed this bug elsewhere on your website too, wherever you have links involving tabs with a # character near the end. They are not connecting properly.
BARE BONES installation of free avast! 2014.9.0.2021 with File System Shield (only). All "extras" are not installed or disabled. It wanted server status which I blocked via ZA. I also killed AvastEmUpdate.exe by renaming it in Safe Mode. Windows XP Home SP3, ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001, Firefox & IE8, Outlook Express, Thunderbird.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2346
  • Memento Mori
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 08:07:20 AM »
Thats working fine here with Opera at the moment.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37129
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 08:14:50 AM »
works fine her also...... Opera and IE9

Offline JohnnyBob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
  • Peace
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2011, 08:44:23 AM »
Thanks for the feedback. I tried it with a different computer running XP Pro and it works OK. So it's either a bug specific to XP Home SP3, or my XP Home SP3 computer has problems. I don't know which, at this point, but suspect the latter. That installation is almost 4 years old and may have accumulated too many quirks. Might be time for a reformat and clean install of op system. Sorry to bother you with my local problem. Cheers.
BARE BONES installation of free avast! 2014.9.0.2021 with File System Shield (only). All "extras" are not installed or disabled. It wanted server status which I blocked via ZA. I also killed AvastEmUpdate.exe by renaming it in Safe Mode. Windows XP Home SP3, ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001, Firefox & IE8, Outlook Express, Thunderbird.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85945
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2011, 03:07:36 PM »
No problem here with FF 5.0 and XP Pro SP3
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline DarkMasters

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • May the best feline win this game of life!
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2011, 12:59:29 AM »
Click whichever tab you want and if nothing happens then simply Ctrl+R (refresh) the page. It happens to me too (only in Avast website) using either Opera or Firefox (no problem in IE9, though).
Core i7 720QM | 4GB DDR3 | Windows 7 x64 SP1 | Microsoft Security Essentials | Windows Firewall (Custom Rule) | Opera, Mozilla Firefox, and IE 10

Offline JohnnyBob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
  • Peace
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2011, 01:26:18 PM »
After making my initial post to this thread, I reinstalled my XP Home SP3 op system and those tabs were working correctly afterwards (yesterday) with Firefox 3.6.18. So thought I had fixed it, but strangely the same problem has returned today. :'( I'm baffled by that observation, except that I've subsequently reinstalled various other application software so something might be incompatible. It doesn't work correctly with Internet Explorer 6 either on that computer.

DarkMaster's suggestion to press the Ctrl-R keyboard keys after left-clicking the tab works with both Firefox and IE6, as does my former suggestion to rightclick and open in a new tab or window. FWIW, that XP Home SP3 computer uses free avast antivirus as shown in my signature, and disabling the avast antivirus software temporarily has no affect. I want to try again (when I can find the time) after uninstalling the scripts shield, and disabling the sandbox, which have caused me various other problems in the past. Contrary to my signature below, I currently have those modules/features installed and active.

I also tried again with another computer which uses Windows XP Pro with Firefox 3.6.10, Chrome 12.0.742.122, Safari 5.0.2, and Internet Explorer 8.0.6001.187002IC. They all work OK. This computer runs the free avira antivirus software rather than avast, and is very different in the other installed software applications. It's a borrowed computer, not mine.

So in my limited testing, this bug appears *not* to be browser related. It is specific to a particular computer, and believe it could either be hardware or software related. I also wonder if there's any chance that the server software used to render the avast website has some prejudices built-in, so that it likes certain hardware or software better than others.
BARE BONES installation of free avast! 2014.9.0.2021 with File System Shield (only). All "extras" are not installed or disabled. It wanted server status which I blocked via ZA. I also killed AvastEmUpdate.exe by renaming it in Safe Mode. Windows XP Home SP3, ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001, Firefox & IE8, Outlook Express, Thunderbird.

Offline Mr.Agent

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2769
  • Proud to be an avast! user.
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2011, 04:55:40 PM »
Me i did find one on the french canadian page at business products on support. Its got J" > its should be translated or corrected this...

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2011, 05:01:50 PM »
http://www.avast.com/en-ca/free-antivirus-download This site where I first tried to download my copy of Avast free is buggy. Your only option is to buy AIS. I had to resort to CNET download. I went to the site through a Google Search. :'(
Avast protects well!!!

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2011, 06:21:58 PM »
http://www.avast.com/en-ca/free-antivirus-download This site where I first tried to download my copy of Avast free is buggy. Your only option is to buy AIS. I had to resort to CNET download. I went to the site through a Google Search. :'(
The download for the free version via the link you supplied works fine.

Offline JohnnyBob

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
  • Peace
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2011, 06:47:19 PM »
http://www.avast.com/en-ca/free-antivirus-download This site where I first tried to download my copy of Avast free is buggy. Your only option is to buy AIS. I had to resort to CNET download. I went to the site through a Google Search. :'(
The download for the free version via the link you supplied works fine.
It works for you, but it doesn't work for me or gdiloren. It pops up a box where the "No thanks, I want free protection" button is inoperative.
BARE BONES installation of free avast! 2014.9.0.2021 with File System Shield (only). All "extras" are not installed or disabled. It wanted server status which I blocked via ZA. I also killed AvastEmUpdate.exe by renaming it in Safe Mode. Windows XP Home SP3, ZoneAlarm 6.1.744.001, Firefox & IE8, Outlook Express, Thunderbird.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2011, 07:25:35 PM »
http://www.avast.com/en-ca/free-antivirus-download This site where I first tried to download my copy of Avast free is buggy. Your only option is to buy AIS. I had to resort to CNET download. I went to the site through a Google Search. :'(
The download for the free version via the link you supplied works fine.
It works for you, but it doesn't work for me or gdiloren. It pops up a box where the "No thanks, I want free protection" button is inoperative.
If you click on it and wait a little while it will work, the button doesn't seem to do anything but it eventually sent me to the next page.

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2011, 07:35:42 PM »
http://www.avast.com/en-ca/free-antivirus-download This site where I first tried to download my copy of Avast free is buggy. Your only option is to buy AIS. I had to resort to CNET download. I went to the site through a Google Search. :'(
The download for the free version via the link you supplied works fine.
It works for you, but it doesn't work for me or gdiloren. It pops up a box where the "No thanks, I want free protection" button is inoperative.
If you click on it and wait a little while it will work, the button doesn't seem to do anything but it eventually sent me to the next page.
The pop-up "Check out our feature-rich antivirus – with great savings!" has no link when you mouse over the grayed "no, thanks" button. I'm ashamed Avast is using such low modes of marketing! It's fishing technics and we are the fishes!
« Last Edit: July 22, 2011, 07:38:18 PM by gdiloren »
Avast protects well!!!

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11143
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2011, 07:45:39 PM »
Did you click on it and wait, iv tried it on three systems here XP AND TWO WIN 7'S and it does work.                                                                                           Avast is not implementing fishing techniques so dont be ridiculous.

Offline Para-Noid

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6711
  • Trust only what you test yourself!
Re: bugs on avast website
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2011, 08:07:33 PM »
Thanks for the feedback. I tried it with a different computer running XP Pro and it works OK. So it's either a bug specific to XP Home SP3, or my XP Home SP3 computer has problems. I don't know which, at this point, but suspect the latter. That installation is almost 4 years old and may have accumulated too many quirks. Might be time for a reformat and clean install of op system. Sorry to bother you with my local problem. Cheers.
Have you tried to clean your HDD? You might want to try CCleaner.
http://filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/ 
Or WinUtilities Free http://download.cnet.com/WinUtilities-Free-Edition/3000-18512_4-75021441.html  :)
Dell Inspiron, Win10x64--HP Envy Win10x64--Both systems Avast Free v17.9.2322, Comodo Firewall v8.2 w/D+, MalwareBytes v3.0, OpenDNS, Super Anti-Spyware, Spyware Blaster, MCShield, Unchecky, Vivaldi Browser and, various browser security tools.

"Look before you leap!" Use online scanners before you click on any link.