Author Topic: Virus alert from Avast 6  (Read 1698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline evan8l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Virus alert from Avast 6
« on: July 31, 2011, 05:14:12 PM »
I am using avast 6 in my PC & i use IE9 FF for browsing. From so many days Avast is giving continuous alerts like every 15, 20 minutes saying " Threat has been detected" . But I'm not able to find any virus. And it comes only when i use internet. All my firewall settings are ok & i use a dial up connection for net. Any one can help please?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71177
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 05:43:43 PM »
If you can attach a screenshot of the avast alert window (crop it to show only the alert window) as this will give is a better idea of a) what avast shield is alerting b) what the malware might be and c) what steps to take next.

Or post the information on what is in the alert window, e.g. malware name, location, and responsible process, etc. ?
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2214 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline bobo1

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 470
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 10:51:34 PM »
Try and download malware bytes free and update and do a full scan to clear what ever it finds
IBM T41 INTEL CENTRINO 1.6GHZ  3. XP SP3. 1000 MB RAM. 80GB HARD DRIVE. AVAST 9. MALWAREBYTES FREE.
NEW TEST RIG FUJITSU (SCALEO) 2.8GHZ 3000MB RAM DVI HD OUT SVGA PENT 4 AVAST 9. GAMING RIG

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 11:07:25 PM »
What version of Avast?
Could be 'Web Shield' blocking a bit of script, bad url etc
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline evan8l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2011, 08:11:23 PM »
I am attaching screen shot of alert i am getting .
« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 02:38:59 PM by evan8l »

Offline evan8l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2011, 02:40:30 PM »
I am attaching screen shot of alert i'm getting .; it comes only when i am online.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71177
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2011, 03:01:31 PM »
LSASS/DCOM Attacks are external/speculative, not targeted attacks and tries to exploit a vulnerability in out of date OS, if your OS is up to date then you aren't vulnerable to the exploit. That doesn't stop them (usually someone from the same ISP with an infected computer) trying to see if it can infect others.
 
Your firewall should be the first line of defence in this, but avast also monitors common attack ports using the Network Shield, ideally the firewall should block it and avast wouldn't know about it, but for whatever reason avast is first in line over your firewall.

What is your firewall ?

Because these attacks are external and the network shield is blocking them avast shouldn't find anything on your system.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2214 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline evan8l

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2011, 06:31:16 AM »
wow that is so informative...Thak you very much :)
And i use comodo firewall free. Is avast is taking over comodo firewall?
Is there any problem with these threats? I think avast is taking care of them. right?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71177
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Virus alert from Avast 6
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2011, 01:44:12 PM »
You're welcome.

Unfortunately, I don't know why avast gets in there before comodo or if comodo isn't actually detecting the attempt (which I would think isn't the case) as the boot order is down to windows and at times can appear very random.

You could try reinstalling the comodo firewall and see if that makes any difference.

Yes avast has taken care of/blocked them albeit more noisily than your firewall would if it just got in before avast.

Firewalls are meant to keep your system stealthed, and not respond to external connections if they didn't originate from your system. So your system IP address would appear not to have a PC on the end of it.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2214 R2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 36.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.4/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security