Author Topic: Please help me with my Anti Package Avast!  (Read 2506 times)

chrischou130894

Please help me with my Anti Package Avast!
« on: August 05, 2011, 05:25:48 AM »
Hi everyone. I'm used Avst for many but recently I have some questions for a better security for my computer. More, my English still bad  so please forgive if there is any misunderstand, thankfully for that.
OK, here is the thing. I've used Avast for almost 4 years but didn't even know what can Avast do (my brother install it on my computer and just said that it's an Anti-virus program, done!. Recently I've started to find some good programs that could protect my computer, and it's must be free. Sorry if this make everybody said, I'm a normal student and just can't find a way to afford for a "Pro" one.
But, like I said, I've used Avast for many years, so I'll just stick with it cause it so good (in my opinion ^^). So, I've done some research and found out some great programs, they are ( include online stuffs):
1. WOT: WEB of Trust Free, it's so famous!
2. Spyware Blaster: for safe surfing only, in my opinion too.
3. Malwarebytes Free: I've heard that this is good.
4. Online Armor: A Firewall.
5. Threatfire.

So my question is do they work well or smoothly together?
Should I use Online Armor or Zone Alarm?
Should I use IObit malware fighter or Superantimalware or Malwarebytes or use two or three of them?
Will it be good if install these programm without causing the computer with heavy RAM?

Tangent questions: Is it Okay to install a total of 40 programs on one single laptop?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Please help me with my Anti Package Avast!
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2011, 02:07:21 PM »
For firewall, in my personal opinion:
Comodo
Online Armour
OutPost Free Security Suite

For a second opinion on demand scanner, I'd rather MBAM or SuperAntispyware. Both? Overkilling maybe...
IObit as thieve: http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=33217