Author Topic: Slow to load  (Read 9264 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88438
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2011, 02:16:17 PM »
This has been a long intermittent problem in the forums. However since the forum was put on its own server earlier this year it hasn't been a problem.

However, recently I have times when the loading of pages in the forums has been slow and despite what the Page creation time being reasonable (the time for the SQL query for all elements of the page), that doesn't bear any resemblance to the actual page loading time.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.10.6086 (build 23.10.8563.800) UI 1.0.784/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48323
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2011, 02:18:02 PM »
I have my location and Union Jack flag !!!!
Sorry the reply was meant for Luxor.  :-[
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76039
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2011, 02:18:43 PM »
However, recently I have times when the loading of pages in the forums has been slow...

Well, as you are also in UK, it may be related somehow.
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88438
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2011, 02:37:14 PM »
Well I rather doubt that as the server is located in Germany, so those in the USA in theory should have a greater problem.

See trace route from the German forum server to the UK http://www.wipmania.com/en/trace/178.63.99.109/?point=21&ff=.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.10.6086 (build 23.10.8563.800) UI 1.0.784/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76039
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2011, 02:55:18 PM »
Well I rather doubt that as the server is located in Germany, so those in the USA in theory should have a greater problem.

I agree and wonder (even more) why only UK users report problems atm...??
I get a clear ping.
min [ms] avg [ms] max [ms] mdev [ms]
6,554    6,755    7,080    0,250
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #20 on: August 08, 2011, 03:06:55 PM »
I get good ping times here.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76039
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #21 on: August 08, 2011, 03:30:36 PM »
I get good ping times here.

But on another server. ;)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88438
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #22 on: August 08, 2011, 04:03:06 PM »
Not to mention pings really aren't the same thing at all, a whole 32bytes of data.

My ping rates to the German server are fine, but that means very little in relation to the page loading (not creation) times.

Looking at my first image it shows one IP address and +1, so it may be that the +1 is another server located in the USA. If this is correct it could account for the differences, but I have no idea how they would synchronise/mirror these servers or if this mirroring would have any impact.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.10.6086 (build 23.10.8563.800) UI 1.0.784/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Luxor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2011, 04:14:38 PM »
Where is "here too"

Someone needs glasses methinks. ;)
Since I'm not a mind reader and you have no country designation, Glasses aren't the problem.
You don't need to be a mind reader, I did state in my first post in the thread that I'm in the UK. Though I prefer to state that I'm from Scotland rather than the UK.

Offline tbird

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Proud avast user
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2011, 05:42:21 PM »
I am in Ky and have been having slow load times for several weeks.
XP/SP3, Intel Pentium 4, 992MB Ram, Avast 2014 Free, Chrome  with ABP , Private  Firewall 7.0,  MBAM, WinPatrol and Thunderbird 24.6.0

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48323
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2011, 05:48:47 PM »
Wonder if the following has anything to do with this ??? (Just a guess)

Lightning strike zaps EC2 Ireland
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 88438
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2011, 06:01:57 PM »
I wouldn't have though so when the server is in Germany as in my images above., certainly the one I'm rooted to.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 23.10.6086 (build 23.10.8563.800) UI 1.0.784/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

j.m.reid

  • Guest
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2011, 06:34:06 PM »
I have my location and Union Jack flag !!!!
Sorry the reply was meant for Luxor.  :-[

No problem . It must be a Scottish fault as I am in Scotland also .

P.s Working fine now .
« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 06:36:19 PM by j.m.reid »

Offline Luxor

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Slow to load
« Reply #28 on: August 08, 2011, 07:31:00 PM »
Wonder if the following has anything to do with this ??? (Just a guess)

Lightning strike zaps EC2 Ireland

It could indeed have something to do with that, but I would be guessing too.

P.s Working fine now .

Same here. Things started to get back to normal around 4pm.