Author Topic: CPU usage and avast!  (Read 10824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2004, 11:35:03 PM »
Thanks... Your patience makes me ashamed  :-[  :-[
Is there any possibility of the dump file is corrupt and worth nothing?

Situation now: 5/12 files of 1,423 Mb each  ;)
« Last Edit: October 31, 2004, 11:36:48 PM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #16 on: October 31, 2004, 11:37:58 PM »
better upload again, or split the archive in small ones + use WinSFV tool to generate crc values for those files.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #17 on: October 31, 2004, 11:40:44 PM »
better upload again, or split the archive in small ones + use WinSFV tool to generate crc values for those files.

Did you post wrongly?
I'm doing this and test the split/join the archive many times... it's working here!
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2004, 12:23:12 AM »
Did you get it? Work?  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2004, 12:34:20 AM »
yes, extracted and sent to vlk
thanks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2004, 01:42:32 AM »
yes, extracted and sent to vlk
thanks

Thanks. Waiting for Vlk and hopping it has some utility  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline watchthisspace

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Avast! What the pros use
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #21 on: November 01, 2004, 05:15:54 AM »
wow!! that sounds like a bad problem, I wonder if anyone else gets this problem?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #22 on: November 01, 2004, 08:35:36 AM »
Technical, I see no problem in the dump BUT it seems that the process is in the middle of doing a scheduled scan. Do you have a scan schedule set? If so, you shouldn't be surprised that ashServ.exe is taking up some CPU until the scan completes... :)
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #23 on: November 01, 2004, 12:05:10 PM »
If needed I can open my ftp server for upload. Just let me know. If not needed, pretend I never wrote this. ;D

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #24 on: November 01, 2004, 02:44:09 PM »
Technical, I see no problem in the dump BUT it seems that the process is in the middle of doing a scheduled scan. Do you have a scan schedule set? If so, you shouldn't be surprised that ashServ.exe is taking up some CPU until the scan completes... :)

What the hell you're right  :o
I forgot that I scheduled a long time ago... the scanning could not finish in that time and ashServ.exe just use the CPU.
At least, I'm happy that we found it! Very thanks pk and Vlk for the 'dump' issue  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #25 on: November 01, 2004, 04:59:40 PM »
Technical, an important question here is - does the scheduled scan ever complete?

I mean, does it run for a given time and then finishes -- or it just runs forever?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #26 on: November 01, 2004, 08:12:38 PM »
Vlk, as I can see by the Sections results, some of them are finished, some of them, probably because of the crash (forced boot) are shown as 'in execution'. I have the last sections results stored if there is any useful information... Do you want a log or something?

So I can't answer your question. Sure, some of them started at a given time and then finished. Others not... I can't say they're running forever... Sometimes I tried to unable the residents and then start them again. Sometimes I used RejZoR's application.

Today, it does not happen as I remove the scheduling  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:CPU usage and avast!
« Reply #27 on: November 07, 2004, 06:01:39 PM »
Technical, an important question here is - does the scheduled scan ever complete?

Well, today is Sunday, it's the only day I scheduled a scan...
It does not finish anytime and the CPU was used up to 95%.

Some questions:

1) Using an on-demmand scanning, the CPU usage (even when not in background mode) is lower than the schedule task.  :-\

2) The schedule scan is taking much more time to finish than the on-demand with same settings even I'm not using the computer.

3) ashServ.exe is running like SYSTEM at High priority  :'(

4) Is the monitor and HDD power supply settings due to anything here? I mean, if the system go to stand by (if it is posible to a computer goes to this state while the scheduled tasks is running)

Seems that the scheduled action would ever posible to be started if it can't be finished before the user comes back to use the computer.

I really suggest that the user can set the task priority.
The best things in life are free.