Author Topic: Bewildered by malware! All my apps disappeared!  (Read 2908 times)

ozarknature

Bewildered by malware! All my apps disappeared!
« on: August 16, 2011, 04:09:33 AM »
Hello friends,

I am a newbie when it comes to diagnosing and repairing malware attacks. I got hit with something serious and would appreciate any suggestions you'd care to offer!

First, let me describe my system: HP Pavilion dv6 3010us 64-bit laptop with 4GB RAM running Windows 7, SP 1. Yesterday I was trying to update some drivers that I thought were outdated. I was complacent and let my guard down. Some free driver update software directed me to some site from which I downloaded what I thought were legitimate drivers.  I don't know for sure that this was the source of the problem but right after I installed the drivers I noticed that several of my applications seemed to vanish. Within 10 minutes or so nearly every application on my hard drive had disappeared, including the McAfee antivirus and firewall service I was using at the time (I have been a longtime user of Avast but I was given a free subscription to the full McAfee suite so switched over and now I regret it!).  The documents and files created by all these apps (including MS Word, PDFs, etc) seem to all be intact and undamaged but I can't be sure since I can't open any of them.

The only browser I can use is Google Chrome, although Java has disappeared so I'm limited in what I can do online. Luckily I can post to this site!  :-)

I can launch Internet Explorer but it won't display any websites.  I can download software so long as Java is not required in the download process. I was able to download Avast with no problem and install it but when I ran the scan it showed no infections. I was also able to download Microsoft's malware removal tool but the scan turned up nothing either.