Author Topic: Beagle found in System Volume Information  (Read 7659 times)

Deb

Beagle found in System Volume Information
« on: November 03, 2004, 09:47:54 PM »
Hi,

I'm new to Avast and I'm afraid I really may have just messed up my computer.  I did a boot scan which found about 9 viruses - win32:Beagle-AS and Beagle-AH all in my System Volume Information folder.  (I'm on XP Home).  I did not see the information on the site about disabling the System Restore before doing the scan (don't know if that's related or not).  The Avast could not clean the first virus and because this looked like a very important file I did not want to just delete it so I chose to MOVE it which I assumed would be to the folder Avast stores moved files to.  But these moved files are not there and now I'm afraid to reboot my computer because some very important files could now be missing from it.  I don't know where they went to.  All the infected files were like this:

C:\System Volume Information\restore_{47E7117B-18F3-4A10-B47C-105BED1BFF98}\RP444\A0075657.cpl

The last part of the file name changes to things like this:

\A0075658.com
\A00755659.scr

etc.

Instead of these moved files in the Avast Virus Chest, I have:

kernel32.dll
winsock.dll
wsock.32.dll

all in the System Files folder in Avast.  The other folders are empty so I cannot even returned the files I thought I moved to the Chest.  Also, the fact that the above 3 files are very important I'm at a loss as to what to do.  I'm afraid if I reboot my computer will not boot up with these files missing.  

Anyone have any ideas how I can go about fixing what might be a major problem?

Thank you,
Deb

DukeNukem

Re:Beagle found in System Volume Information
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2004, 10:06:45 PM »
The 3 files

kernel32.dll
winsock.dll
wsock.32.dll

are put in the chest by default by avast and were not virus infected.