Author Topic: I just can't post pictures...  (Read 7642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
I just can't post pictures...
« on: November 05, 2004, 07:15:05 PM »
I've not being able to post *.gif pictures.
Yesterday I could  8)
But now, I got: Failure in submission of form. Session timeout.
Strange, I can post before, after the message, everything is ok.
I just can't post pictures...
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2004, 02:05:30 AM »
Technical,

Check the time the server thinks it is against any offset you've set in Forum Prefs. And check the time of your own computer.

If one of them contradicts the other, the session "expires" before it even starts.   ;)

About the problem with the "session timeouts". There are two simple issues which could cause it...
1) your webbrowser does something with the cookies.
2) your ISP sends your request through a proxy server which doesn't take care of sending the appropriate information to the server so your connection can be identified correctly, rejecting any data sent.

Sometimes it is just the ISP server itself.  Try it again after waiting awhile and see what happens.

Did you make any changes to your system?
Did you do any "cleanup" using BeClean or similar?
What about Av or spyware scans?

Later
 :D

Let me know if any of this helps.
« Last Edit: November 06, 2004, 02:11:56 AM by Techie101 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2004, 04:41:54 AM »
Technical, Check the time the server thinks it is against any offset you've set in Forum Prefs. And check the time of your own computer. If one of them contradicts the other, the session "expires" before it even starts.   ;)

I've never heard about offsets... I'm continously logged on the forums. The time on my computer is checked against atomic clocks and the time offset on my profile is correct. What do you mean?

About the problem with the "session timeouts". There are two simple issues which could cause it...
1) your webbrowser does something with the cookies.
2) your ISP sends your request through a proxy server which doesn't take care of sending the appropriate information to the server so your connection can be identified correctly, rejecting any data sent.

Sometimes it is just the ISP server itself.  Try it again after waiting awhile and see what happens. Did you make any changes to your system?

Well I'm continously doing something... sometimes I can post sometimes not...
But you give me a got guess: the ISP can be rejecting my data... I'll take a look.

Did you do any "cleanup" using BeClean or similar?

Sure, what's the matter?
I don't think this is a cookie related trouble.

What about Av or spyware scans?

I'm clean  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2004, 04:59:50 AM »
Technical,

The time offset can be any differential used for the country or location you wish the Forum time to sync with.

In other words, I can sync forum time to MY time or YOUR time.  Make sure the "times" agree and your computer does not think it is on after the forum time.  In silly terms, the computer gets to the forum before it actually arrives.   ;D

As for the computer doing things, I meant did you add any new programs or modify any?

If you removed any files via BeClean or similar, they may have been needed.

Since you are continuously signed on the forum, then the cookie theory is out.  :(

I feel that the problem lies with your ISP.

As a test, can you try sending a jpeg?
What about other file types of similar "size"?
« Last Edit: November 06, 2004, 05:03:00 AM by Techie101 »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2004, 05:13:22 AM »
Technical,

The time offset can be any differential used for the country or location you wish the Forum time to sync with.

In other words, I can sync forum time to MY time or YOUR time.  Make sure the "times" agree and your computer does not think it is on after the forum time.  In silly terms, the computer gets to the forum before it actually arrives.   ;D

Can you guide me? I'm asleep, it's late... I can't follow what you're talking about.
My clock is synchronized. My time offset is taking care we are here in Day Summer Time, which means GMT -2 (and not GMT -3 which is the default).

If you removed any files via BeClean or similar, they may have been needed.

I'm not sure... I have the backups but I give no error on any other program  :(

Since you are continuously signed on the forum, then the cookie theory is out.  :(

Ok, we agree on this.

I feel that the problem lies with your ISP.

Me too. I'm going to bed...

As a test, can you try sending a jpeg?
What about other file types of similar "size"?

I tested other file types. It's not this nor the file size. Not the email attach is anybody asks...

Men, I'm really tired and asleep... I can't help anybody if I don't help myself and go to bed  ;D
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2004, 11:47:45 AM »
Daylight saving time and it is gmt-2 there? That must be in Europe and Europe's dst ended last weekend.  ;) Are you sure your system time is correct?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2004, 01:04:32 PM »
Daylight saving time and it is gmt-2 there? That must be in Europe and Europe's dst ended last weekend.  ;) Are you sure your system time is correct?

Here is GMT -3.
DST needs to add 1 hour (+1).
So, I'm now, at GMT -2 and my system clock shows GMT -2
What is this with posting gif?  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2004, 11:59:00 PM »
Technical,

Two suggestions:

1.  Restore to a previous date, probably Nov. 3rd.

2.  Do you use PHP in your computer?  If so, is it the latest version?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2004, 12:45:47 AM »
1.  Restore to a previous date, probably Nov. 3rd.

Why?
I can't right now... I use GoBack and not System Restore.

2.  Do you use PHP in your computer?  If so, is it the latest version?

Nope.  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2004, 05:20:43 AM »
I was hoping that restoring to a date when you WERE able to send gif files which would end the problem since we are not sure of why it is happening.

Sometimes I find it easier to go back rather than fight it to try and figure out why it happened in the first place.

I had previously asked about any files you removed via BeClean or similar because I have myself in the past removed files that were actually needed even though they were identified as NOT being used or duplicate or whatever.

Doing my best here but I am at a loss right now to explain why this is happening.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2004, 05:21:11 AM by Techie101 »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2004, 05:26:47 AM »
Can you post pictures on another forum? (just trying to rule things out)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2004, 01:25:45 PM »
Can you post pictures on another forum? (just trying to rule things out)

Yes I can.
In Maxthon and Wilders for instance  :-\
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2004, 11:34:08 PM »
Technical,

That is strange indeed.  Then it must be "Avast Forum" specific.  Have you tried a gif of a smaller size?

Try sending ANY gif even if it is only a "dot" size.

I still feel that it is with your ISP somehow, but now you say that you can post gifs to Wilder's.

Very mysterious indeed.

 ???

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31301
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2004, 11:41:38 PM »
I wonder if this is Avast's forum related or Yabb related....
I found another forum that is using Yabb. http://www.intissoft.com/cgi-bin/forum/YaBB.pl Perhaps trying to post a picture in there test section tells us more.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:I just can't post pictures...
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2004, 12:57:47 AM »
As you can see in other threads, I can post gif pictures now.
The problem was at the proxy server. Thanks to you all  8)

For instance: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=9;action=display;threadid=8448
The best things in life are free.