Author Topic: Blank Scan Now  (Read 5264 times)

canalrun

Blank Scan Now
« on: September 29, 2011, 01:55:32 AM »
I am running avast pro antivirus on Windows 7 64-bit 6.0.1289.
I have been using it for a few years. Subscription valid until 2/2/2012.

I tried to find when the last scan was, I opened the user interface, clicked on the scan tab on the left, then click the scan now sub tab.

The white box is blank. No way to scan, nothing is displayed. Searching the web I see this is a common problem, but their solution of rebooting or going into Control Panel uninstall repair then rebooting does not work.

How do I fix this so I can scan or see what the results of the last scan were?

Barry.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2011, 02:00:55 AM by canalrun »

ady4um

Re: Blank Scan Now
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2011, 10:04:49 AM »
Normally, I would say go to the same "Scan Now" -> "Scan logs" to show the list of scans, and clicking on each row you would get more info and options.

But since you "see all blank", I don't know if you mean that there is no log, or that there is a problem with the display in Avast.

To configure the logs, you could go to Avast main GUI -> settings ->  maintenance.

In addition, some "cleaners" (like for example CCleaner) are able to delete some Avast logs (in some cases), so be sure you are not accidentally doing that with such type of programs (unselect "Avast" from the list of items to clean).

Offline CraigB

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • No support PM's thanks
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2011, 10:56:39 AM »
ady4um CCleaner does not remove any avast scan logs, this feature for cleaning avast in ccleaner was removed not long after it was introduced.

canalrun if the repair function does not work then i woud suggest a clean install, an uncommon cleaner or a registry cleaner optimiser may have trshed something if you have run one of these.

CCleaner is the only tool i would ever recommend using for cleaning up a system.