Author Topic: Ie Script error  (Read 14351 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jodef

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • I'm a llama!
Ie Script error
« on: August 13, 2003, 01:16:43 AM »
In trying to disable simple user interface startup script I get following ie error :
Line .220
Char   26
Object doesn't support property or method
Code    0
mk:@MSITStore:E:\Avast\English\Help\ChecklistSimple.chm::/checklist.htm
I tried deleting help file avast then generates unknown
error although doesn't stop antivirus from working it is
very annoying ???

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Ie Script error
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2003, 08:23:40 AM »
It's a bug in MSIE that was introduced to your system when applying the February cummulative security patch (yes, even security patches can bring new bugs :-X).

Fortunately, there is a hotfix that solves the problem.
Please see  http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=811630 .

All you need to do is download and install the hotfix from this MS page - that should fix the problem.


Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Ie Script error
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2003, 05:12:57 AM »
It's a bug in MSIE that was introduced to your system when applying the February cummulative security patch (yes, even security patches can bring new bugs :-X).

Fortunately, there is a hotfix that solves the problem.
Please see  http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=811630 .

All you need to do is download and install the hotfix from this MS page - that should fix the problem.


Vlk

Thanks Vlk, I got the same error in the past...  ;)
Related forum:
http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1339
http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1344;start=0#msg7513
« Last Edit: October 01, 2003, 01:43:49 PM by Technical »
The best things in life are free.

Offline macman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • I'm a llama!
Re:Ie Script error
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2003, 12:09:20 PM »
Well I have that hot fix and it does not solve the problem ::)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:Ie Script error
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2003, 01:44:52 PM »
Well I have that hot fix and it does not solve the problem ::)

Hey, Igor, your guess was wrong...
What´s happening?
The best things in life are free.

Offline czardas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Ie Script error
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2007, 02:45:02 PM »
I have this problem too. I have just installed XP pro on a laptop which I do not wish to use online. I am getting the same script error as is in this thread. I notice that this post is a few years old so I would have thought that someone would have managed to find a solution by now. If it is a microsoft issue, then why does it still happen even after I have upgraded from IE6 to IE7? How come this thread just dies off without a solution. What is the problem? Will it effect the viewing of any other htm documents? If there is an update for IE7 on XP Pro service pack 2 which can fix the problem, where can I find it?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Ie Script error
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2007, 02:55:47 PM »
I have this problem too.
Please, as a workaround, change the settings of avast4.ini file.
ShowHelpCheckList=1
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=1647.msg10263#msg10263
The best things in life are free.

Offline czardas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
Re: Ie Script error
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2007, 03:16:19 PM »
Got it thanks.  ;)

Still, it seems strange that the bug hasn't been fixed.

Offline wighty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Ie Script error
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2008, 04:24:31 PM »
I just installed Avast! Home on both my home computers - both with Win XP SP1.  The first was a Dell XPS, which did not produce this script error.  The other computer was a Dell 4550 and this script error did show up.  Neither computer had the KB811630 hotfix.

However, the avast4.ini file fix (ShowHelpCheckList=1) solved the problem.   Still, I wonder why it happened...  ???

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85957
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Ie Script error
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2008, 05:41:27 PM »
Whilst I'm not sure why it happens on some systems but not the majority, you need to update your OS as it is way out of date.

Currently we are on XP SP3 with other security updates since even SP3, these updates close vulnerabilities, which are being exploited and this could impact on your systems security.

Because you only have XP SP1 that will also limit what IE version you can use, so your IE version will also be out of date and have vulnerabilities that are also being exploited.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security