Author Topic: False Positive PUP After Latest Update?  (Read 5420 times)

whitedavidp

False Positive PUP After Latest Update?
« on: October 08, 2011, 06:59:03 PM »
I have been using Avast free on my system for many months now. It seems like after the most recent update, it is now reporting PUP on one file that has been on my system for some time, hstart.exe, and on a couple files in the system restore area that are also .exe but of which I know nothing (I presume they are part of windows).

I note that if I right click on the hstart.exe file or if I scan only the folder containing this file, Avast reports nothing untoward. It only happens during full system scans. Perhaps this is as expected, I don't know.

But I wonder if something changed regarding PUP in the last update that may be causing this.

Thanks

Offline DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: False Positive PUP After Latest Update?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2011, 08:14:55 PM »
What is the location of the file ?
Did you install this ?

Signatures are added to and updated all of the time and that too would include what might be classified as a PUP (Potentially Unwanted Program). If this is Hidden Start (as suspected) then it is a tool which could be used for good or evil and an AV can't determine intent. To me if this is correct and you are looking for PUPs this detection is correct.

Hstart.exe with description Hidden Start is a process file from company NTWind Software belonging to product hstart.

Since avast doesn't scan for PUPs by default you must have changed your settings, if so you need to have a reasonable idea of what is installed on your system and what it does, as some tools will certainly be considered a PUP.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.3.6108 (build 24.3.8975.762) UI 1.0.801/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

whitedavidp