Author Topic: cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high  (Read 7605 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« on: November 16, 2004, 12:51:37 AM »
After few seconds the cpu usage (windows xp sp2) increased to
30 percent (with a athlon xp 3200+) and then the tv-show
shortly hang.

Without using any tv-applikations the system sometimes stops for
1 seconds and then it is normal again (like word processing)

Software: Home Version 4.5.523 (all provider enabled)

thanks
« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 08:18:55 PM by zivilist »
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline inthewildteam

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 772
  • Computers can do that?
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2004, 12:59:06 AM »
you could try mainconcept, it probably isn't an avast! issue

http://www.mainconcept.com/index_noflash.shtml
« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 01:04:26 AM by inthewildteam »
So? I drive a Citroen

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2004, 01:36:20 AM »
Zivilist, could you post which application is using the CPU (CTRL+ALT+DEL and sort by CPU usage)?
Is it ashServ.exe?
The best things in life are free.

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2004, 08:06:38 AM »
Yes it is the ashServ.exe.  Every 5-10 seconds.
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2004, 08:37:37 AM »
Please check the taskmanager to see if anything is listed under processes that is part of the tv card driver and still is running when you do not use the card. This is a well known problem with several tv card drivers.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2004, 08:59:41 AM »
It may be the VRDB generator. Try disabling it temporarily and see if it helps.

Thanks
Vlk
« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 08:59:55 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2004, 06:48:40 PM »
It is not the VRDB because I disable it.
Every time the a-logo twist the cpu process ashServ.exe
use 30 percent. I try to close Outlook 2003 but it is the same
problem.

I think it is the on access scanner for files when switching
to other files.
 
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #7 on: November 16, 2004, 06:49:56 PM »
Please check the P2P Shield and IM Shield if the number of scanned files is increasing.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #8 on: November 16, 2004, 06:56:02 PM »
no increasing, because P2P Shield and IM Shield not working now (analogue modem user and no flatrate ) :(
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2004, 06:57:30 PM »
What if you pause the Standard Shield then? Does it make any difference?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #10 on: November 16, 2004, 07:45:43 PM »
yes. Please try it.
It takes very long to check files...
The ashServ.exe takes nearly 20 mb of RAM  :-\


Better: try to open something (e.g. a pdf file)
avast! use then one third of the cpu because of the current scanning file
« Last Edit: November 16, 2004, 08:25:24 PM by zivilist »
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2004, 03:07:02 AM »
I notice that the system only hang when nxtvepg (http://nxtvepg.sourceforge.net/) is enable and
K!TV is runnig. nxtvepg creates a debug.out file (and avast permanently scanning this file; why?)
So I posted this problem to nxtvepg discussion forum:

http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=217872  (post in englisch or german)

I hope that avast or nxtvepg-team fix this problem.
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31302
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2004, 03:09:23 AM »
If you are sure that file doesn't do any harm (and I believe it isn't causing any harm), you can add it to Avast's exclusion list. That would solve the problem if you ask me. ;)

Offline zivilist

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #13 on: December 03, 2004, 10:40:43 AM »
the file is definitively not dangerous. It only a debug file with error messages inside.

Yes I could exclude the file but it is better to find the error.

thanks
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64, OS X 10.8.3
Avast Free (for Mac and Windows)

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re:cpu usage while using K!TV XP is to high
« Reply #14 on: December 03, 2004, 10:45:09 AM »
What are your settings of the Standard Shield?