Author Topic: [Solved] Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer  (Read 8358 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Yance

  • Guest
[Solved] Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« on: November 23, 2011, 10:57:23 AM »
Hello...
I would like to report that avast 6 conflicts with  netbalancer. Netbalancer can't limit the bandwidth of any application if I use avast 6, but not if i use avast 5.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 03:57:00 PM by Yance »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2011, 11:35:26 AM »
NetBalancer has invoked BSODs in my computer some months ago.
I could not manage it with avast 6 and K9. I had to drop it.
Can you get support from Netbalancer developer?
The best things in life are free.

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2011, 11:58:30 AM »
I use avast 6 & k9 but did not got BSOD. I already get support from Netbalancer developer by email. But, hey just stating that it may be caused by antivirus (avast) and suggest to get support by avast.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2011, 12:00:11 PM »
I use avast 6 & k9 but did not got BSOD. I already get support from Netbalancer developer by email. But, hey just stating that it may be caused by antivirus (avast) and suggest to get support by avast.
This is easy to say.
It's more responsible just investigate first. My memory dumps accused Netbalancer drivers as guilty.
The best things in life are free.

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2011, 12:21:31 PM »
Yeah...

I hope to get repairs from avast or any seriousbit. Trying a new version of netbalancer but didn't fix the issue, especially to limit the internet download manager bandwidth.

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2012, 03:35:46 PM »
Hello....

Is there avast team that pay attention about this issue?

Please help us...    :)

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48613
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2012, 03:58:29 PM »
Quote
Trying a new version of netbalancer but didn't fix the issue, especially to limit the internet download manager bandwidth.
Maybe I'm confused but what part of avast! has anything to do with throttling bandwidth ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76035
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2012, 04:47:05 PM »
Maybe I'm confused but what part of avast! has anything to do with throttling bandwidth ???

None. It seems, he's trying to fix a NB issue in the wrong forum... ;D
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89230
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2012, 04:56:54 PM »
Is there avast team that pay attention about this issue?

Please help us...    :)

Even if there were there is zero information to 'help them' identify the problem if it exists.

So, how does it conflict, what errors are displayed, etc. etc. ?

I know nothing about netbalancer or how it works, "NetBalancer is an internet traffic control and monitoring tool."

So the key to this is how it monitors internet traffic, e.g. if it uses a proxy to do this then both avast's proxy and netbalancers would need to be coordinated.

In all honesty I see little use for this tool as you would have to be running multiple applications that access the internet frequently, simultaneously for it to really have any impact.

People have been letting applications, browser, email, IM and p2p, etc. slug it out for space for years without needing something to allocate priority. If there is a problem, then surely not allowing automatic access to the internet and don't start a huge P2P session when you want to play a game. e.g. no multi-tasking with internet connections.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2012, 03:00:29 PM »
Maybe I'm confused but what part of avast! has anything to do with throttling bandwidth ???

None. It seems, he's trying to fix a NB issue in the wrong forum... ;D

Thanks for your help, but why you say i post in wrong forum? While this issue is related between nb & avast? Anyway, i've got solution from avast technical support.

Thank you

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2012, 03:06:32 PM »
Is there avast team that pay attention about this issue?

Please help us...    :)

Even if there were there is zero information to 'help them' identify the problem if it exists.

So, how does it conflict, what errors are displayed, etc. etc. ?

I know nothing about netbalancer or how it works, "NetBalancer is an internet traffic control and monitoring tool."

So the key to this is how it monitors internet traffic, e.g. if it uses a proxy to do this then both avast's proxy and netbalancers would need to be coordinated.

In all honesty I see little use for this tool as you would have to be running multiple applications that access the internet frequently, simultaneously for it to really have any impact.

People have been letting applications, browser, email, IM and p2p, etc. slug it out for space for years without needing something to allocate priority. If there is a problem, then surely not allowing automatic access to the internet and don't start a huge P2P session when you want to play a game. e.g. no multi-tasking with internet connections.

Thank you. I use NB at my i-cafe. I need to limiting user downloading files from download manager.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48613
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2012, 03:08:22 PM »
Maybe I'm confused but what part of avast! has anything to do with throttling bandwidth ???

None. It seems, he's trying to fix a NB issue in the wrong forum... ;D

Thanks for your help, but why you say i post in wrong forum? While this issue is related between nb & avast? Anyway, i've got solution from avast technical support.

Thank you
It would be nice to let the rest of us know what the answer is so that we may help some one else with the same problem.  :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89230
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2012, 03:19:37 PM »
OK, then what needs to be confirmed is how net balancer achieves this, it must monitor traffic. The big key is how doe it monitor and throttle this traffic, I suspect it may be through some sort of proxy. If it is then it needs to be coordinated with the web shield proxy by adding that proxy port to the avastUI, Settings, Troubleshooting, Redirect Settings, Web section, HTTP port(s): list and uncheck the Ignore local communication.

Another option might be avastUI, Real-Time Shields, Web Shield, Expert Settings, and check the 'Scan traffic from well-known browser processes only,' option.

I know nothing about the workings of net balancer, so as Bob said the answer would help others and could have saved everyone some time.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.4.6112 (build 24.4.9067.762) UI 1.0.803/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Yance

  • Guest
Re: Avast 6 conflict with NetBalancer
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2012, 03:27:19 PM »
Maybe I'm confused but what part of avast! has anything to do with throttling bandwidth ???

None. It seems, he's trying to fix a NB issue in the wrong forum... ;D

Thanks for your help, but why you say i post in wrong forum? While this issue is related between nb & avast? Anyway, i've got solution from avast technical support.

Thank you
It would be nice to let the rest of us know what the answer is so that we may help some one else with the same problem.  :)

I'm sorry, i forget it. This is guidance from avast technical support:

1) Click the orange avast's icon in system tray to open the program interface
2) Click the REALTIME SHIELDS button
3) Click the WEB SHIELD to select it and then click the EXPERT SETTINGS button in right pane
4) Under MAIN SETTINGS, tick the "Scan traffic from well-known browser processes only"
5) Confirm the change with OK button
« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 11:14:48 AM by Yance »