Author Topic: New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?  (Read 12376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Arup

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • I'm a llama!
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2004, 09:20:55 AM »
I dont know why people are having spate of problems with Avast, I have two different machines running Avast, one a dual Athlon and other a dual P-III 850, both using Win2K SP4, MS Outlook 2002 for email client and I have faced no problems whatsoever, I have updated to this version and as usual will give you feedback if there is any problems which I dont really anticipate.
Avast Home+Windows XPx64 on dual quad core with 8gb ram.

Offline watchthisspace

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 637
  • Avast! What the pros use
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2004, 09:32:12 AM »
I dont know why people are having spate of problems with Avast, I have two different machines running Avast, one a dual Athlon and other a dual P-III 850, both using Win2K SP4, MS Outlook 2002 for email client and I have faced no problems whatsoever, I have updated to this version and as usual will give you feedback if there is any problems which I dont really anticipate.
hehehe same here, i've got win XP pro on one machine and 200pro on another

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2004, 11:15:51 AM »
did i miss something ?? mine reads version 531 :o you guys must be gettin the hang of pumping out new versions now.   ;D
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2004, 03:04:02 PM »
Just to note: from 4.5.529 to 4.5.531 I was not asked to boot...
Hope it's just cosmetic changes that does not requires a boot...  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11801
    • AVAST Software
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2004, 03:09:47 PM »
That's really strange...
There were certainly changes in the program itself (such as Vlk's change in the Simple User Interface "Play" button)... or, a potentially bad bug was fixed in the core (that may cause the program to freeze on some files) - so a reboot should certainly be required.

Can you check the end of setup log, corresponding to the update?

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31305
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2004, 03:11:38 PM »
Quote
Just to note: from 4.5.529 to 4.5.531 I was not asked to boot
Strange indeed, it sure asked me to reboot.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2004, 03:37:06 PM »
This is the last update (build 529).
At the end, I have the line NeedReboot=false
The next shows that I have build 531.

Am I reading something wrong?

Btw, I suggest a way to limit the setup.log file... It's too big for me  :P
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11801
    • AVAST Software
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2004, 03:44:36 PM »
It's really strange - the new packages were downloaded, but not installed (it wasn't even tried)  ???
How did you invoke the update?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2004, 07:40:04 PM »
How did you invoke the update?

Command line:

C:\ARQUIV~1\Avast\ashUpd.exe program /silent /nodetails
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11801
    • AVAST Software
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2004, 07:43:45 PM »
Ah, it may be the case then.
I talked to Mr. Forejt about it and he said there should be another argument there (refresh - if I remember correctly(?)); he was wondering why it's missing.

Invoking program repair should install the downloaded packages.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2004, 07:50:57 PM »
Invoking program repair should install the downloaded packages.

It's not the case, Igor.
I did not invoke the repair function after that.
Usually, I just invoke updates by this way... It should update but it does not asked for booting... When I boot, it was refreshed...

Am I doing/thinking anything wrong?
Should I add another parameter to that command line? (usually I have /VPS but there are a lot of betas and I need to be updated with them too  8))
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67250
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2004, 09:03:08 PM »
Igor, the same happened if I use the command line from 4.5.531 to 4.5.536. No boot is required. The about window show 4.5.526. I was surprised! I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Starfighter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
  • They only let me use pencils, not pens!
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2004, 11:51:21 PM »
... I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)

Same thing happened to me (using Win 98)... req'd a reboot.  No biggie though.  ;)
I use avast! because it's the best.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85366
  • No support PMs thanks
Re:New BETA 4.5.529 - hopefully solving many of the issues...?
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2004, 12:47:49 AM »
... I tried to manual update the program and, then, the boot was required  ::)

Same thing happened to me (using Win 98)... req'd a reboot.  No biggie though.  ;)


That is what is suposed to happen now, Technical wasn't being asked to reboot after an command line update. So in effect the update wasn't applied.
« Last Edit: November 26, 2004, 12:49:35 AM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.5.2470 (build 21.5.6354.675) UI 1.0.646/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security