Author Topic: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible  (Read 5178 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mrsurrender

  • Guest
Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« on: January 02, 2012, 11:27:00 AM »
We use Avast! Professional 6 in our office. Several computers have no internet access, so we manually start vpsupd.exe which we put regularily on our file server. We use 6.0.1376 and try vpsupd.exe from 01/01/2012 and 01/02/2012. License is valid until 2014.

Since today we only get an error message "avast.setup - error in application" when we start vpsupd.exe. No update is made.

Please fix this in time!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 12:12:22 PM »
They have already acknowledged that the offline update has a problem.
They're working on it.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 04:18:02 PM »
They have already acknowledged that the offline update has a problem.
They're working on it.

Makes one wonder why they keep posting new vpsupd.exe update files, especially when they know that they are faulty. ::)
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 47058
  • 62 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2012, 04:22:45 PM »
They have already acknowledged that the offline update has a problem.
They're working on it.

Makes one wonder why they keep posting new vpsupd.exe update files, especially when they know that they are faulty. ::)
Almost looks like someone has their head buried in a gopher hole.  :o
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v21H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast One 21.11, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://b

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2012, 04:48:44 PM »
They have already acknowledged that the offline update has a problem.
They're working on it.

Makes one wonder why they keep posting new vpsupd.exe update files, especially when they know that they are faulty. ::)
Almost looks like someone has their head buried in a gopher hole.  :o

More like watching the chimps at the zoo throwing crap at the wall and watching what sticks and what runs down. :P
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

alexyeoh_leo85

  • Guest
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2012, 02:36:51 AM »
They have already acknowledged that the offline update has a problem.
They're working on it.

hope they will faster settle the problem as soon as possible.

Thank you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2012, 01:14:21 PM »
hope they will faster settle the problem as soon as possible.
The problem is already solved.
The best things in life are free.

Offline lukas.hasik

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 904
  • Product manager of Mac AV and Cleanup
[SOLVED] Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2012, 01:36:54 PM »
working vpsupd.exe is available for download again.

sorry for inconviniece
Quality is also a feature.

mrsurrender

  • Guest
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2012, 04:23:24 PM »
Yes, solved and working. I guess this was due to holidays... Thanks for fast support though.  :)

alexyeoh_leo85

  • Guest
Re: Update via vpsupd.exe not possible
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2012, 02:44:54 AM »
i will try on later. thank you avast support team.
 ;D ;D