Author Topic: browser hijack  (Read 3233 times)

donnydave

browser hijack
« on: January 04, 2012, 11:31:25 PM »
I am not very good with computers being in my 60,s but I have a virus/trojan called Qsearch.com lurking on my computer? none of my virus remover progammes are able to remove it because it acts like a browser, as soon as I go onto the internet Qsearch.com takes over from google. I have managed to stop it by asking avast to block it from loading then clicking on google to make google my search engine, but as soon as I close my browser and start up again it reappears. I was told on youtube that if I scan with Superantispyware, then Malwarebytes and the with Kapinsky this will remove it, but when I tried loading Kapinsky anti spyware, Avast closed my computer down. This Qsearch.com is well known on the internet as a browser hijacker why can not Avast remove it?HELP please!I am using mozilla firefox.

Offline essexboy

• Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: browser hijack
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 11:35:17 PM »
Hi there this normally needs to be removed manually

Download OTL  to your Desktop
  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
  • Select All Users
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in
netsvcs
%SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
/md5start
consrv.dll
explorer.exe
winlogon.exe
Userinit.exe
svchost.exe
/md5stop
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBT /s
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\NetBIOS /s
hklm\software\clients\startmenuinternet|command /rs
hklm\software\clients\startmenuinternet|command /64 /rs
C:\Windows\assembly\tmp\U\*.* /s
%Temp%\smtmp\1\*.*
%Temp%\smtmp\2\*.*
%Temp%\smtmp\3\*.*
%Temp%\smtmp\4\*.*
CREATERESTOREPOINT

• Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.