Author Topic: Upgrade to paid Internet Security from Free Antivirus doesn't work  (Read 4277 times)

KatElevenTen

I'm running a Dell desktop with Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.80GHz 2.79GHz, 4GB Ram with Win 7 SP1 32-bit.

I've been using Avast Free Antivirus on it for about 2 years. I'm a big proponent of Avast. I recommend it to everyone. I've installed it on my mother's desktop, every laptop I've ever had, my daughter's netbook, my other daughter's desktop and laptop. Over the holiday season I got the opportunity to upgrade to the Internet Security with 3 licenses for a very good price. I put a license each on my laptop and my daugher's new laptop that I got her for Christmas both of which are running Win 7 SP1 64bit. On my laptop I'm also running Zemana Anti-Logger, SUPERAntiSpyware Pro, and Windows Defender. No problems... both upgrades went off without a hitch.

No such luck with my desktop however. After entering the license file, and sitting through the downloading and installing of the Internet Security program, the firewall couldn't be enabled and I had no Internet connection. I attempted this twice and both times used System Restore to get me back to working order, alas with Avast Free Antivirus rather than the Internet Security. Now in the interest of full disclosure, I'm also running Windows Defender and Zemana Anti-Logger on the desktop as well. I believe in a layered approach to security and one of the reasons I like Avast so much is the combination of its effectiveness and it plays well with others which I've not found with other highly rated free anti-virus programs.