Author Topic: Can someone please explain this to me?  (Read 5553 times)

blueshift

Can someone please explain this to me?
« on: January 07, 2012, 06:21:20 PM »
I am a user who never ever wants to see anti virus popups unless I need to know something urgently and I have been using avast for a few years, the free version that is, and I've loved it. I upgraded to the paid version not because I need the extra features but because I wanted to support the company that had been doing all of this for me. Now my paid version subscription is about to expire and avast continually has popups asking me to renew, and I don't want to. I could understand one window with the option to not show again letting me know but having a super annoying nagging renewal popup that I don't see the option on how to get rid of me is making me seriously angry, why is there no option to remove alerts in the paid version of the product? Is there a way I can forfeit the rest of my time on the paid version to downgrade to the free version or should I just reinstall?

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Can someone please explain this to me?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2012, 06:46:07 PM »
Well, this warning is very important because you won't be able to update and get unprotected.
I suggest you get back to the free version with an installation from scratch:

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro. Or even upgrade your key from old versions.