Author Topic: avast! vs System Restore XPSP2  (Read 60831 times)

Roper

avast! vs System Restore XPSP2
« on: November 26, 2004, 10:10:18 PM »
Hello, I am new to avast and have had 4.5.523 Home installed on two XPSP2 computers (one HE, one Pro with all the latest updates) for a few days and program update says this is current version, everything works as it should except when clearing system restore in the usual manner which I do periodically..

My Computer > Properties > System Restore > Turn off System Restore, all is OK up to this point but when turning System Restore back on with On Access Protection running the whole show just freezes up completely with an error message saying rundll32 is not responding and a forced shutdown is the only option.

This occurs on both computers and happens regardless of other running programs or if all else is shut down but avast and is repeatable over and over again.

For the moment I can live with it by turning On Access protection off before clearing Restore as it's not something one does all that often and I do like avast but hopefully it is something for which someone can offer a solution.

TIA

Offline Eddy

• Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:avast! vs System Restore XPSP2
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2004, 10:20:53 PM »
It should be:
My Computer > Properties > System Restore > Turn off System Restore,  Reboot.

Changes to system restore only take fully place if you reboot.

And does it still happen with 4.5.536?
« Last Edit: November 26, 2004, 10:24:55 PM by Eddy »

Roper

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2004, 10:54:13 PM »
It should be:
My Computer > Properties > System Restore > Turn off System Restore,  Reboot.

Changes to system restore only take fully place if you reboot.

And does it still happen with 4.5.536?