Author Topic: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.  (Read 6648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.
« on: January 13, 2012, 02:00:14 AM »
See:  http://www.trustware.com/BufferZone-Pro/

Is this good software?  EDIT:  Is it safe to use?

I already run Sandboxie version 3.62 free.  On a limited budget, so...

UPDATE:  Installed it, ran it, for two or three days, were more problems other than prob with Guest Account, so...

I uninstalled it, and went to an earlier disk image and restored that.

Going to leave BufferZone Pro on my User info to remind myself that maybe I was an idiot, at least for a little while...


 :(
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 07:50:21 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

akama1

  • Guest
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2012, 11:47:27 AM »
bufferzone is safe and one of the good ones :) they've got reviews on youtube :) if im not mistaken languy99 once did a review on it and it turns out pretty good :)

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2012, 02:52:26 PM »
Yes, it is :) It doesn't work if you have Comodo installed though.

It works well with Avast  ;)

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2012, 06:09:37 PM »
Chris Thomas,

So the HIPS feature of COMODO firewall is the root cause of incompatiblity?  Would turning off Defense + help ameliorate the conflict?

I am currently running Avast! Home Edition Free and COMODO Firewall Free (basic) version 5.9.219863.2196, and I also understand Defense + is proactive in defending against unwanted or malware executables, so could this be the cause of the problem?  Is there a way to exclude the Trustware program from COMODO as I do with Avast!, and vice versa, to greatly enhance system operation and speed?

Thought I'd ask.  Thanks for the heads-up on BufferZoneProFree.   ;D
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

DonZ63

  • Guest
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2012, 08:18:49 PM »
Here's a review of it: http://www.brighthub.com/computing/enterprise-security/articles/7644.aspx

Why don't you just download the free VMware software and just great a real virtual machine?

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2012, 08:35:10 PM »
Here's a review of it: http://www.brighthub.com/computing/enterprise-security/articles/7644.aspx

Why don't you just download the free VMware software and just great a real virtual machine?

Hi DonZ63,

Yeah, think I'll try it. 

Not interested in doing things on the net I shouldn't do, but rather, actually going out there and looking for malware to help here.

Already have some experience with Sandboxie, should be similar, eh?

Note the caution of using for banking transactions, wouldn't anyway.  I don't do it in real, so...

Thanks for the review.   :)
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67203
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2012, 09:35:08 PM »
It's a good software. Run well side by side with avast free.
But, at least for my usage, very annoying as everything is running into the sandbox and to get a simple download of it you need to type password, etc. It's a noisy program, but safe and good, imho.
The best things in life are free.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2012, 07:53:18 AM »
@ Chris Thomas, DonZ63, Tech, et al.

Quote
Yes, it is.  It doesn't work if you have Comodo installed though.
Quote
Why don't you just download the free VMware software and just great a real virtual machine?
Quote
It's a good software. Run well side by side with avast free.

Well, I got it to run with COMODO Firewall Free, even though the install box said it was incompatible with COMODO.

Wasn't hard to do.  All I had to do was turn off Defense + (all three sections) before starting installation and then allow the .msi executable to connect to the interet by clicking 'Allow' when the firewall popped a dialog box.

I registered, clicked finish, and was successful in registration.

Watched some install videos on YouTube, got the gist of what to expect.

Nice that all private files are hidden by BufferZone Pro!  Also nice that I can enter the real environment by turning it off when I need to!

As this has been running only ten minutes so far, I do not know what to expect yet.

Defense + is fully back on and running.

Thanks for the good words.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2012, 10:23:26 AM »
Update:

BufferZone Pro running over three hours now, no problems.

Attached are two jpg's below.

What is PLUGIN CONTAINER: Plugin Container.exe?  Shouldn't it just be Plugin Container.exe?  I know what it is, and what it is for, just wondering.

EDIT:  Had a little trouble with naming file .jpeg.  My bad.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2012, 10:37:05 AM by mchain »
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2012, 06:39:32 PM »
Update:

Apparently running this program may be overkill for the average user.  Having said that, Avast protection shields still work effectively when it is running.  Any browser you use will be able to function normally, with the exception that downloads must be placed outside of BZ before you shut the computer down.

One IT guy over at CNET said it is a waste of time if free, and something like foolishness if paid.  Well, it is free, so I guess I am guilty of the former.

Only problem I have had is it will not start and run in a Guest Account.  Works in User Admin and Limited User just fine.

Maybe the more restrictive policies for Guest are in play?

No error box or code is thrown when it does not run.  All four .exe's are running in Task Manager.  The GUI just does not run so I can view what it is doing.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.
« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2012, 07:53:02 AM »
BUMP

(See first post)
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48050
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.
« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2012, 10:04:07 AM »
BUMP

(See first post)
What's the reason for the bump ???
What question are you still trying to get answered ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline mchain

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5412
  • Spartan Warrior
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.
« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2012, 10:11:56 AM »
bob3160,

Sorry.

New to forums in general, didn't remember what bump was for.  Won't do it again.

Just saw it somewhere else some time ago, so forgot what it is used for.

Do not need questions answered. 

Just modified OP with an update, is all.  Learned my lesson in more ways than one.

You can consider the topic closed, if that is all right with you.
Windows 10 Home 64-bit 21H2 Avast Premier Security version 22.8.6030 (build 22.8.7500.734) UI version 1.0.723.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48050
  • 63 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: BufferZoneProFree By Trustware Tried it, threw it away.
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2012, 10:47:08 AM »
We don't close topics they just disappear of the radar screen.  ;D
No need for apologies.  :)
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v22H2 64bit, 16 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 23.5.6066, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet