Author Topic: avast 6 - Office Click to Run  (Read 23992 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lloydc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #45 on: January 19, 2012, 03:58:45 AM »
my computer came with the microsoft office (full version trial) and click to run microsoft office starter pre-installed. When the trial version of office ran out I uninstalled it and just kept using the starter version. I don't recall if I ever printed from the full version during the trial period. I have a samsung RV511 laptop win 7 64bit service pack 1, 4meg RAM..My printer is networked on a desktop running xp sp3 that I print to via my wiifi connection on the laptop. I have a very vanilla setup on my avast free, so I just can't imagine what might be different about my config. I wonder if the networked printer might be what's unique??
Win7 64 bit, 6gig RAM, Avast 6.0 free, MBAM free, Spyware Blaster Free

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #46 on: January 19, 2012, 05:54:09 AM »
my computer came with the microsoft office (full version trial) and click to run microsoft office starter pre-installed. When the trial version of office ran out I uninstalled it and just kept using the starter version. I don't recall if I ever printed from the full version during the trial period. I have a samsung RV511 laptop win 7 64bit service pack 1, 4meg RAM..My printer is networked on a desktop running xp sp3 that I print to via my wiifi connection on the laptop. I have a very vanilla setup on my avast free, so I just can't imagine what might be different about my config. I wonder if the networked printer might be what's unique??

Thanks for the input.

One difference is the fact that you had a full version of office at one point. Not sure what that would effect, but it is a difference.

I also wonder if having it go through an XP machine to print may make a difference. We have two printers - one networked and one hard wired to desktop,  but on the laptop with the exact issue, it is networked for both printers. I don't suspect a network configuration error there, as everything other than the Click to Run products prints without issue. I also have a basically default set up for avast, so I suspect any difference would be outside of that.... But, just to clarify, do you have all shields running? And the auto sandbox?

For now, we are running avast with the Expert Setting in the Behavior Shield slightly changed by unchecking the 'Monitor the system for unauthorized modifications' box.  Perhaps leaves us a small amount unprotected, but all the other shields are fully running, so we still have a reasonable amount of protection... And we can print from Office Starter now....

If anyone cares, the auto sandbox disabling did not make a difference. It was set up to Ask, but it never brought up a dialogue box about the printing, and even disabling it made no difference as far as allowing printing. The only work around I have found is the behavior shield mentioned above....

Again, thanks for posting. I know I could just switch to MSE, but I have used avast for about 7 years and do like it. I also know I could simply switch to Open Office.... But by switching, that would be like giving up, which I really am not ready to do yet.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #47 on: January 19, 2012, 06:19:45 AM »
For now, we are running avast with the Expert Setting in the Behavior Shield slightly changed by unchecking the 'Monitor the system for unauthorized modifications' box.  Perhaps leaves us a small amount unprotected, but all the other shields are fully running, so we still have a reasonable amount of protection...
That is not too dangerous of a thing to do....the Behavior Shield is very passive anyway, unless you change it to "ask"....this is much better than totally disabling it, as you would by proxy also turn off the Script Shield, as it is dependent on the Behavior Shield.

I also know I could simply switch to Open Office.... But by switching, that would be like giving up, which I really am not ready to do yet.
Slightly OT heads-up....Open Office is dead, if you did switch, you would want LibreOffice.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #48 on: January 19, 2012, 06:53:07 AM »
Slightly OT heads-up....Open Office is dead, if you did switch, you would want LibreOffice.

Thanks for that info... I have been using OO on my laptop for years now... The desktop I use and the laptop my son uses are the ones with Click to Run problem.

Offline lloydc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #49 on: January 19, 2012, 09:30:12 PM »
I went thru my avast setting and The few changes I made were to enable PUP scanning and exclude the Q" drive (click to run) from scans...I kept getting password protect scann errors on Q...pretty sure I did that way after I printed from word and excel though...Ihave all shields enabled fully including behavioral, and have auto sandbox on..again not sure of the relavance but I did not install chrome with avast...I did however just install it a couple weeks ago...again no change before or after that...sorry i can't help much...
lloyd

maybe I should offer to sell my computer to avast so they can figure it out.. ;D ;D
Win7 64 bit, 6gig RAM, Avast 6.0 free, MBAM free, Spyware Blaster Free

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #50 on: January 21, 2012, 06:57:17 AM »
I went thru my avast setting and The few changes I made were to enable PUP scanning and exclude the Q" drive (click to run) from scans...I kept getting password protect scann errors on Q...pretty sure I did that way after I printed from word and excel though...Ihave all shields enabled fully including behavioral, and have auto sandbox on..again not sure of the relavance but I did not install chrome with avast...I did however just install it a couple weeks ago...again no change before or after that...sorry i can't help much...
lloyd

maybe I should offer to sell my computer to avast so they can figure it out.. ;D ;D

Interesting that you excluded scanning the Q drive...
I am guessing there is some exclusion I could make in the behavior shield that would allow things to work and lave all protection on, but I haven't found it... Nor, it seems, has anyone else. Unless, maybe, I exclude the whole Q drive in the expert settings of the behavior shield. Any input on that? Not even sure it would work for me, but...

I submitted a ticket earlier this week regarding this issue, but haven't heard back yet. Things are fine with the changes I made earlier. I'll leave it be until I hear back or come up with a better solution.

Regardless, lloydc, thanks for hanging in there as I try to sort this out...

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44314
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #51 on: January 21, 2012, 09:06:33 PM »
Just reaching for straws  but wonder if this has any bearing:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=1480.msg349807#new
Remember, it may not have anything to do with it but worth a look.  :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #52 on: January 21, 2012, 10:39:55 PM »
Hi,

Yeah, a have a hunch a straw may someday be the answer.... This one was not it, but thanks.... I understand the solution may be obscure because the problem itself is kind of obscure....

In the big picture, I am glad I have gotten this far... When the issue showed up I had no clue as to what the issue may have been... Suffice it to say avast was not on my list of possible culprits, but after many online searches, it came up....

Maybe something in avast 7 will make it work....

Anyway, thanks.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3151
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #53 on: January 21, 2012, 11:48:51 PM »
I'm thinking more and more that it may have to do with a conflict between Click to Run's virtualizations and the Avast sandboxing and behavior monitoring features.
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #54 on: January 22, 2012, 02:17:33 AM »
I'm thinking more and more that it may have to do with a conflict between Click to Run's virtualizations and the Avast sand boxing and behavior monitoring features.

One thread I read mentioned disabling the auto sandbox as a fix. I tried that, with no luck. It is strange that I've seen various solutions posted to this...

One frustrating thing is that once it 'finds' the printer, it appears to remember it for a few days. For example, it sees the printers now. If I turn all of the behavior shield back on, it will see still see the printer for a bit, then lose it. For convenience, I am now just leaving that one thing unchecked...

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44314
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #55 on: January 22, 2012, 12:53:31 PM »
Disabling the Behavior Shield has worked for someone else:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=92134.msg733038#msg733038

If it works for the rest, then try rebooting your system and see if the printing
now works without any changes to avast!.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2012, 01:12:48 PM by bob3160 »
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31344
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #56 on: January 24, 2012, 10:55:07 AM »
Turned off the behavior shield, try to print.
If that works, turn the behaviour shield back on and try again.

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #57 on: January 24, 2012, 03:10:18 PM »
Turned off the behavior shield, try to print.
If that works, turn the behaviour shield back on and try again.

Thanks, but already tried with no luck. Behavior Shield back on, printing eventually dies in Office, either later that day if the next day or two.... It is  that way with the whole behavior shield or just the one item in the expert settings mentioned above.....


Offline lloydc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #58 on: January 26, 2012, 08:45:02 PM »
is your behavior shield set to auto decide? Mine is and all boxes checked.
Win7 64 bit, 6gig RAM, Avast 6.0 free, MBAM free, Spyware Blaster Free

Offline hrova

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: avast 6 - Office Click to Run
« Reply #59 on: January 26, 2012, 09:07:03 PM »
is your behavior shield set to auto decide? Mine is and all boxes checked.

I have tried it with both Auto decide and ask. It does not seem to make a difference.

I do have the one box unchecked ('Monitor the system for unauthorized modifications') as that is the only way I can get consistant printing. Once I check that, my printing dies either later that day or the following day.