Author Topic: new upgrade is a big FAIL for 2 obvious reasons  (Read 4149 times)

kctopitz

new upgrade is a big FAIL for 2 obvious reasons
« on: February 25, 2012, 03:01:53 AM »
I repair and maintain computers for a living. Having just performed the upgrade to 7.0.1407 on 3 computers, I can say with confidence that this upgrade was not well thought out at all.

1. The issue I'm sure most people will be complaining about, the enabling of the auto-sandbox function. Really? Someone thought it was a good idea to enable something that prevents nearly every program from running without asking whether to turn the feature on or even explain what it is? Sorry, but this was a bone-headed idea, no matter how good the intentions may be behind it. TURN IT OFF, NOW! I'm already anticipating emails from people saying they can't open the same program they've been using for months.... "and something about a sandbox."

2. Much less of an issue than the above, but still an issue, the upgrade process decided to install Chrome on my system, without my asking, even though I already have Chrome installed (really, why would I have agreed to install something I already have?). Why is this a problem? Because it installed Chrome on the system-wide level (rather than on the user level, as is normal for Chrome) and, more importantly, it completely wiped out by Chrome user settings, including the current saved session I had with, oh, 40 some tabs stored. Those tabs were open for a work-related reason. Now I have to try to remember each page that was loaded and wiped out thanks to this upgrade process.

I was really feeling good about deciding to switch many of my users over to Avast from other AV software, but after this... wow. Time to reconsider.

Dch48

Re: new upgrade is a big FAIL for 2 obvious reasons
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 03:04:50 AM »