Author Topic: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?  (Read 54645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2012, 08:00:04 PM »
Is anyone else running v7 in old W2K SP4?

I tried it, but it doesn't work:

~SKY~, I have seen Avast 7.0.1407 in action on Win2K.
Did you try a clean install?

Vlk

@Vlk

Definitively V7 doesn't work here with Windows 2000,

- NOT after an Update over the UI and

- NOT after a clean install.

In both cases and after Restart the PC:

> There's no avast!-Icon (ball) in the taskbar next to the clock

> I can't open the programm over the Desktop-Icon. Nothing happens when using AvastUI.exe!!!
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2012, 08:11:01 PM »
I'm using Win2k, and Avast 7 works fine, but I had compatibility problems with Comodo Firewall. If I close Comodo, the system is OK.

Hallo c64,
how did you install V7:

1. over the GUI?
2. clean install?

In both cases I hadn't luck... :'(
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline AntDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2012, 09:35:13 PM »
Is anyone else running v7 in old W2K SP4?

I tried it, but it doesn't work:

~SKY~, I have seen Avast 7.0.1407 in action on Win2K.
Did you try a clean install?

Vlk

@Vlk

Definitively V7 doesn't work here with Windows 2000,

- NOT after an Update over the UI and

- NOT after a clean install.

In both cases and after Restart the PC:

> There's no avast!-Icon (ball) in the taskbar next to the clock

> I can't open the programm over the Desktop-Icon. Nothing happens when using AvastUI.exe!!!
Interesting. I won't upgrade then. Yeah I am getting weird error for each installation in my W2K SP4 test machine. :(

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #18 on: February 26, 2012, 10:24:51 AM »
@AntDude
Perhaps one of the next programm-updates will work. I hope... ::)

I didn't get an error during or after both ways of the installation from V7.
As I did a clean install, avast! said at the end of installation, that the installation was OK.

Then I restarted my machine und after that

> no icon in the taskbar
> can't open the programm (AvastUI.exe).

After that I take my Acronis-backup with avast! V6 and use this again at the moment.
Never had problems with V6.
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline AntDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #19 on: February 26, 2012, 01:54:51 PM »
@AntDude
Perhaps one of the next programm-updates will work. I hope... ::)

I didn't get an error during or after both ways of the installation from V7.
As I did a clean install, avast! said at the end of installation, that the installation was OK.

Then I restarted my machine und after that

> no icon in the taskbar
> can't open the programm (AvastUI.exe).

After that I take my Acronis-backup with avast! V6 and use this again at the moment.
Never had problems with V6.
I did three different installs in my clean W2K SP4 VM. First one failed right away during its installation. Second one failed at the end. Third one installed without errors, but had problems running avastui.exe. I didn't even change anything between VM sessions!

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2012, 07:22:19 PM »
Third one installed without errors, but had problems running avastui.exe.

That's the same mistake I had! :o

It seems, that AvastUI.exe is the problem!!!!!

Do you remember, if the avast!-icon (ball) was in the taskbar next to the clock?

Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline AntDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #21 on: February 26, 2012, 09:18:40 PM »
Third one installed without errors, but had problems running avastui.exe.

That's the same mistake I had! :o

It seems, that AvastUI.exe is the problem!!!!!

Do you remember, if the avast!-icon (ball) was in the taskbar next to the clock?
I don't remember. :(

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #22 on: February 26, 2012, 10:35:47 PM »
I don't remember. :(
OK, thank you for the feedback! ;)
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline AntDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #23 on: February 26, 2012, 10:38:24 PM »
I don't remember. :(
OK, thank you for the feedback! ;)
NP, frustrating. Good thing I asked and tested it in a clean W2K SP4 VM. :)

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #24 on: February 26, 2012, 10:48:38 PM »
Good thing I asked and tested it in a clean W2K SP4 VM. :)
Yes, we both had luck - I used my Acronis backup.
I think we'll have to wait.

Do you know another update-feedback from anyone, who uses W2k, too?
I couldn't find one here in the forum.
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline AntDude

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #25 on: February 26, 2012, 10:56:52 PM »
Good thing I asked and tested it in a clean W2K SP4 VM. :)
Yes, we both had luck - I used my Acronis backup.
I think we'll have to wait.

Do you know another update-feedback from anyone, who uses W2k, too?
I couldn't find one here in the forum.
Not that I know of. Hence why I made/created this forum thread for old W2Kers. I had a feeling there would be problems. I wasn't expecting a lot of problems with newer Windows versions users though! :O

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #26 on: February 26, 2012, 11:02:35 PM »
Not that I know of.
Thanks!

Hence why I made/created this forum thread for old W2Kers.
That was a good idea. It's better to create a seperate Thread than posting problems where I posted them. ;)


I had a feeling there would be problems. I wasn't expecting a lot of problems with newer Windows versions users though! :O
+1 :P
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |

Offline c64

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2012, 12:26:22 AM »
Hallo c64,
how did you install V7:

1. over the GUI?
2. clean install?

I simply updated the software from version 6 to 7, over the GUI.
I have problems using Avast 7 and Comodo together and sometimes (only one time with Comodo closed) the explorer.exe (the start bar) crashes and I have to restart.

Offline BlackBird

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2012, 09:33:47 AM »
Hi, happy Avast User here since the days of 4.xx, i installed Avast 7 on a windows 2000 sp4 roll up, over Avast 6, i downloaded the installer and installed off line, installation went smooth and rebooted

So far so good,
however i experience problems with the FSS which freezes my computer, it looks like the FSS is somewhat hyperactive, in processes the sf.bin appears constantly, which is related to the Code Emulation, so for now i disabled Code Emulation in the FSS Settings (settings Sensitivity)

This makes the computer usable for now

Offline =SKY=

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1614
  • *2010* - Thanks for 10 years!!!
Re: Windows 2000 SP4 supported or not for Avast Free v7?
« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2012, 11:17:56 AM »
Hallo c64,
how did you install V7:

1. over the GUI?
2. clean install?

I simply updated the software from version 6 to 7, over the GUI.

Hi c64,
thanks for your feedback! ;)
Win10 Home [x64] 21H1 @ Windows Defender | FF ESR |
My oldest darling: W2k Pro SP4 & UR1 @ avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497 | Palemoon & K-Meleon [BOTH MODIFIED for W2k] |