Author Topic: help needed for resident option (newbie)  (Read 2697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

daiz

  • Guest
help needed for resident option (newbie)
« on: December 06, 2004, 06:42:27 PM »
i can check manually for viruses but can't seem to get the resident scanner option happening, any help, much apprieciated, cheers.

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31216
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:help needed for resident option (newbie)
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2004, 06:44:32 PM »
What is telling you/making you think the on-access scanner isn't working?
What OS?
What version of Avast?

suggestion : read the help and this board to make yourself familiar with Avast and the possible settings.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2004, 06:48:15 PM by Eddy »

daiz

  • Guest
Re:help needed for resident option (newbie)
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2004, 09:37:28 PM »
its avast 4 home, free version, the reason i think the resident isn't working is i belive a small (a) should appear bottom right of my screen near the clock  to indicate it's working, is that right?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re:help needed for resident option (newbie)
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2004, 10:05:54 PM »
Yeah, daiz, if you don't have the 'a' blue icon on the bottom right of my screen near the clock there is a possibility that the residents are not working...

Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove
Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.