Author Topic: Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes  (Read 2127 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpazticWonder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes
« on: February 29, 2012, 04:37:15 AM »
Today, I recently upgraded to Avast Internet Security. Malwarebytes told me that it needed to update it's databases, and was blocked by Avast. So I changed the settings in the firewall so that MBAM is allowed all ports and whatnot, and it's still not able to update. Any help on this issue?

Offline AntiVirusASeT

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 464
Re: Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 04:41:16 AM »
is ur windows firewall still on?
it seems weird that i am asking u this qn but Avast! firewall within internet security is completely compatible with windows firewall and runs with it.

make sure u delete all MBAM rules in windows firewall

please post back  :)

Offline SpazticWonder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 04:45:42 AM »
is ur windows firewall still on?
it seems weird that i am asking u this qn but Avast! firewall within internet security is completely compatible with windows firewall and runs with it.

make sure u delete all MBAM rules in windows firewall

please post back  :)
I didn't actually see anything about MBAM in the Windows Firewall, strangely.

Offline AntiVirusASeT

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 464
Re: Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 05:10:46 AM »
dunno if this will work, but try deleting the rule for MBAM in Avast! firewall instead of changing it?
as i am not using the firewall itself, i am not sure if there is an ask mode, if there is, activate it and run MBAM update.
allow all firewall queries

Offline AdrianH

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 854
Re: Avast Firewall blocking Malwarebytes
« Reply #4 on: February 29, 2012, 07:22:26 AM »
 Running MBam and AIS requires exclusions to be set , follow this guide >> http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&st=0&p=417798&#entry417798
Win8.1 Pro 64Bit  : KIS2014 : CryptoPrevent : Privazer: